Hovdens share spotlight at Upper Iowa Speedway
Print this page
July 1, 2017

It was a family affair in victory lane Saturday as brothers Dan and Mitch Hovden topped their respective main events during the Iron Man Challenge event at the Upper Iowa Speedway in their hometown of Decorah, Iowa.

Dan Hovden came from the sixth starting spot in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event and outran the lastest Iron Man Challenge winner, Ben Moudry, for the victory.

Moudry, who started 10th, held off hard-charging Justin O'Brien who came from the 21st starting spot, for runner-up honors. Jason Schlangen was fourth and Jon Vanminsel completed the top five.

Dan Hovden won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

In Holley USRA Stock Car action, defending national champ Mitch Hovden took the win over sixth-starting Derek Green. Kevin Donlan came home in the third position, polesitter Dillon Anderson finished fourth and the top five was rounded out by Matt Jones.

Mitch Hovden won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Steve Dwyer of La Crosse, Wis., claimed the USRA Hobby Stock win over national points leader Brady Link.

Steve Dwyer won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

The Iron Man Challenge moves to the Cresco Speedway on Sunday with both Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods topping the card. USRA Late Models and USRA Hobby Stocks will also compete.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like USRA Racing on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing, follow www.twitter.com/usraracing on Twitter and check out the USRA YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usratv. Keep up to speed with everything USRA by joining our email list at www.usraracing.com/subscribe.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Iron Man Challenge
Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa
Saturday, July 1, 2017

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.

1. (6) 16D Dan Hovden, Decorah, Iowa
2. (10) 85 Ben Moudry, Hastings, Minn.
3. (21) 12J Justin O'Brien, Volga, Iowa
4. (3) 27S Jason Schlangen, Cresco, Iowa
5. (4) 1 Jon Vanminsel, Spring Grove, Minn.
6. (1) 02 Cole Denner, New Hampton, Iowa
7. (8) 12K Casey Knutson, Spring Grove, Minn.
8. (13) 17C Chad Halverson, Decorah, Iowa
9. (9) 82 Rick Byrnes, Decorah, Iowa
10. (12) 88X Jimmy Brosziet, Postville, Iowa
11. (20) 14 Arthur Schott, Clermont, Iowa
12. (7) 32Z Alex Zwanziger, Nashua, Iowa
13. (11) 32 Taylor Skauge, Caledonia, Minn.
14. (14) 66 Keagen Einck, Decorah, Iowa
15. (18) 58K Taylor Knutson, Caledonia, Minn.
16. (19) 60 Colby Mann, Caledonia, Minn.
17. (16) 21D Dom Mueller, Decorah, Iowa
18. (5) 20K Kyle Brown, Minnesota Ciy, Minn.
19. (15) 878X Josh Roney, Postville, Iowa
20. (2) 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah, Iowa
21. (17) 14M Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa

1. (2) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa
2. (6) 32 Derek Green, Granada, Minn.
3. (9) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa
4. (1) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah, Iowa
5. (4) 23M Matt Jones, Waukon, Iowa
6. (8) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa
7. (3) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn.
8. (5) 6 Danny Sacquitne, Decorah, Iowa
9. (7) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn.
10. (13) 00 Danny Cole Jr, Lansing, Iowa
11. (10) 2J Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa
12. (16) 7H Phil Holtz, Manchester, Iowa
13. (15) 5 Luke Sathoff, Jackson, Minn.
14. (12) 27 Shawn Peter, Mabel, Minn.
15. (21) 40 Shay Curtin, Cresco, Iowa
16. (11) 11R Jesse Brown, Nashua, Iowa
17. (19) 23 Brayden Gjere, Mabel, Minn.
18. (22) 26 Steven McAllen, Elgin, Iowa
19. (20) 99X Brandon Dietrich, Waukon, Iowa
20. (17) 55 Derek Dettmann, Mcgreger, Iowa
21. (14) 55H Troy Hansmeier, Waukon, Iowa
22. (18) 3 Bill Scherf, Elkader, Iowa
23. (23) 25 Dan Jones, Waterville, Iowa

1. (7) 7 Steve Dwyer, Lacrosse, Wis.
2. (3) 29 Brady Link, Waukon, Iowa
3. (4) 07 Chris Hovden, Cresco, Iowa
4. (8) 22 Steve Larson, Decorah, Iowa
5. (5) 266 Justin Lichty, Marion, Iowa
6. (11) LKY7 Brennan Welsh, Waukon, Iowa
7. (2) 8R Brian Radloff, Monona, Iowa
8. (1) 81 Joshua Ludeking, Decorah, Iowa
9. (15) 19 Paul Seabrooke, Elgin, Iowa
10. (6) 82J Jason Borsheim, Decorah, Iowa
11. (9) 26 Mathew Fullhart, Decorah, Iowa
12. (16) 54 Jeremy Oakes, Spring Grove, Minn.
13. (10) 19M Jay Mensink, Harmony, Minn.
14. (13) 43 Brett Knapp, Waukon, Iowa
15. (12) 71 Kyle Nicoll, Cresco, Iowa
16. (14) 47 Brayton Boyer, St. Lucas, Iowa

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group