Green tops Iron Man Challenge at Deer Creek
Print this page
July 6, 2017  |  by Todd Narveson

The Iron Man Challenge featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars were the were on the undercard for the Workd of Outlaws Sprint Cars at Deer Creek Speedway Thursday night. Heat race action took place on June 29, but Mother Nature rained out the Holley USRA Stock Car feature and only three laps of the Sprint Car A-Main got in before the rains came.

So that set up a unique two-race make-up date to complete the show on July 6. Twenty-eight Holley USRA Stock Cars were on hand for the original date and 22-of them returned for the make-date.

Dean Cornelius and Shawn Peter led the field to the green flag for the 20-lap race. A caution stalled the race on lap one and set up a complete restart. Derek Green took off from third and quickly challenged for the lead with Mitch Hovden to the third position, Peter drifted high and dropped back a few spots.

Green was right with Cornelius while Matt Jones took over fourth and Pete Solum entered the top five. Green snatched the lead on lap four and Hovden came along to second one circuit later. Dillon Anderson who started in row five moved to fifth on lap 13.

Green held Hovden at bay for the rest of the race to pick up his first win at Deer Creek. Hovden got close to Green late, but took the second spot, while Anderson continued his late race charge and wound up third. Cornelius finished up in fourth and Jones rounded out the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Iron Man Challenge
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Thursday, July 6, 2017

1. (3) 32 Derek Green, Granada, Minn.
2. (6) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa
3. (10) 44 Dillion Anderson, Decorah, Iowa
4. (1) 9 Dean Cornelius, New Prague, Minn.
5. (4) 23 Mathew Jones, Waukon, Iowa
6. (5) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn.
7. (8) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa
8. (7) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa
9. (2) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn.
10. (9) 6 Danny Sacquitne, Decorah, Iowa
11. (11) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa
12. (14) 46 Cody Frerichs, Howard Lake, Minn.
13. (15) 25J Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa
14. (12) 00 Blake Adams, Mcintire, Iowa
15. (19) 55H Troy Hansmeier, Waukon, Iowa
16. (13) 11 Jesse Brown, Nashua, Iowa
17. (17) 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa
18. (18) 321 Dan Feltus, Allison, Iowa
19. (21) 7 Andrew Lokenvitz, Charles City, Iowa
20. (22) 23G Brayden Gjere, Mabel, Minn.
21. (16) 7K Andy Stinson, Cresco, Iowa
22. (20) 21R Brandon Vogt, Adams, Minn.
DNS - 7H Phil Holtz, Manchester, Iowa
DNS - 30 David Moriarty, Jordan, Minn.
DNS - 92 Dan Mackenthun, Hamburg, Minn.
DNS - 74C Cole Mather, Fairbank, Iowa
DNS - 5 Luke Sathoff, Jackson, Minn.
DNS - 5B Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group