Wheeler, Hawkins win first at Tri-State Speedway
Print this page
July 22, 2017  |  by Rob Nugent

Chris Hawkins won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The 11th Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway saw two first-time winners this season during Saturday's program. Once again Mother Nature tried to put a damper on this weekend’s events with 100-degree temperatures that caused other tracks to cancel their racing for the weekend. With a lot of extra track work, the track was very raceable and fast.

The first race on the track after intermission was the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature where Chris Hawkins of Neosho, Mo., went to victory lane for the first time this season. Lonny Flanagan improved on his third-place finish from the previous two weeks for a second-place run ahead of Chad Summerford.

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks next for their feature. Chad Wheeler of Muskogee took home his first win of the season over teammate Tate Cole. Points leader Trevor Latham crossed the line in third.

Chad Wheeler won the USRA Modified feature.

NEXT TIME: Tri-State Speedway will take the weekend of July 29 off and will return to action again on Saturday, Aug. 5, for the 38th Annual Summertime Classic. More details will be released in the coming days.

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 p.m. with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5. The drivers meeting is at 7 and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at www.Tri-StateSpeedway.com Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tri-State Speedway, Pocola, Okla.
Saturday, July 22, 2017


Feature (15 laps): 1. 1XX-Chris Hawkins, [5]; 2. 7-Lonny Flanagan, [4]; 3. 03-Chad Summerford, [10]; 4. 216-Brent Manning, [7]; 5. 40-Steve Butler, [6]; 6. 77-Gerry Vaughn, [9]; 7. 88B-Hunter Byers, [3]; 8. 7X-Bobby Russell, [2]; 9. 32-Kelly Hicks, [1]; 10. 41N-Beau Nelson, [8].


Feature (20 laps): 1. 88-Chad Wheeler, [2]; 2. 89-Tate Cole, [4]; 3. 27L-Trevor Latham, [3]; 4. 23-Logan Robertson, [9]; 5. 8-Jeremy Vaughn, [5]; 6. 49-Kayden Menasco, [11]; 7. 5-Steve Holzkamper, [6]; 8. 15-George Martin, [7]; 9. 7D-Jake Davis, [8]; 10. 15M-Nathan Melanson, [17]; 11. 1/4-Brandon Hunter, [12]; 12. 10H-Randy Henson, [10]; 13. 6-Jason Payton, [13]; 14. 1/2-Zane Hunter, [14]; 15. 57M-Michael Hines, [15]; 16. 17-Brent Holman, [1]; 17. III-Myles Newman III, [16].

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group