Cummins, Kath revisit Chateau Raceway victory lane
Print this page
July 28, 2017  |  by Matthew Grage

A perfect summer day turned into a perfect summer evening for racing action at Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minn., Friday night. Mother Nature has divided up the racing and rain-outs evenly this summer with Friday being just the eighth night of racing action up against just as many weather postponements.

A season high car count in the USRA Modifieds saw 17 cars take the green flag for the 25-lap main event.

Darwyn Karau of Kasson came off the outside of the front row to grab the early lead. Behind him, current points leader and defending track champion Jason Cummins of New Richland was sitting back in row six for the start of the race. Cummins didn’t stay there long, moving past four cars on the first lap to move up to seventh, swept by two more to go to fifth on lap two and was up to fourth on lap three when the first of five cautions slowed the field.

Up front Karau was battling with Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie who took advantage of Karau bobbling in turn two on lap seven to take the lead away. At the same time, Cummins moved up to third and a lap later moved past Karau for second. Following another caution Cummins found his way to the top of the track and moved around Hillson for the lead. From there he drove off to his fifth feature win of the season at the Chateau Raceway.

Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Austin made a pass about midway through the race to move up to second where he finished just ahead of Hillson, Brian Shaw of Brownsdale and Steve Wetzstein of West Concord. Wetzstein had one of the three heat wins on the night for the class with David Schuster of Waterville and Tammy Soma-Clark of Rochester picking up their first wins of the year in the other two heats.

In Out-Pace USRA B-Mod action, Kadden Kath of Owatonna stretched his lead in the points race with a wire-to-wire win in the feature event. Kath took advantage of a front row starting spot to jump to the front and stay there.

Jayden Larson of Mankato stayed close over most of the race but had to settle for the runner-up spot. Nate Chodur of Lake Mills, Iowa, outdueled Cole Denner of New Hampton, Iowa, for third. Denner had a heat win on the night along with Taylor Ovrebo of Wells, each picking up their first wins of the year.

Action will continue next Friday, Aug. 4, with the track hosting the Jake Stark Benefit. The event was supposed to be two weeks ago but because of the rain-out was rescheduled for next week. Stark, a nine-year veteran of the track, has competed in four different classes over the years and currently competes in the USRA Modified class. He’s been dealing with skin cancer, stage 2 melanoma. Fans, friends and drivers are coming together to help raise some funds for the battle.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 28, 2017


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 40-David Schuster, [2]; 2. 71-Jason Cummins, [4]; 3. 23-Darwin Karau, [3]; 4. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr, [6]; 5. 24-Charlie Steinberg, [5]; (DNS) 77-Jacob Stark.

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 61T-Tammy Soma Clark , [2]; 2. 1-Greg Jensen, [5]; 3. 21-Troy Gudmonson, [3]; 4. 72-Doug Hillson, [6]; 5. 90W-Ryan Wetzstein, [1]; 6. (DNF) 55-Brian Shaw, [4].

Heat #3 (8 laps): 1. 90-Steve Wetzstein, [2]; 2. 1A-Dwaine Hanson, [1]; 3. 20JR-David Wytaske, [3]; 4. 20-Mark Motl, [5]; 5. (DNF) 111JR-Keith Tourville, [4].

Feature (25 laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins-New Richland, [11]; 2. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr-Austin, [5]; 3. 72-Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie, [3]; 4. 55-Brian Shaw-Brownsdale, [16]; 5. 90-Steve Wetzstein-West Concord, [7]; 6. 40-David Schuster-Waterville, [9]; 7. 23-Darwin Karau-Kasson, [2]; 8. 24-Charlie Steinberg-Kasson, [13]; 9. 20-Mark Motl-Owatonna, [1]; 10. 1A-Dwaine Hanson-Lakefield, [6]; 11. 61T-Tammy Soma Clark-Rochester , [10]; 12. 77-Jacob Stark-Austin, [15]; 13. (DNF) 90W-Ryan Wetzstein-West Concord, [14]; 14. (DNF) 111JR-Keith Tourville-Webster WI, [17]; 15. (DNF) 20JR-David Wytaske JR-Grand Meadow, [4]; 16. (DNF) 21-Troy Gudmonson-Savage, [12]; 17. (DNF) 1-Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, [8].


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 02-Cole Denner, [2]; 2. 88-Nate Chodur, [1]; 3. Z29-Anthony (AJ) Zvorak, [4]; 4. 34-Jeremy Schaufenbuel, [6]; 5. 14M-Brian Mahlstedt, [5]; 6. 44-Matthew Brooks, [3]; 7. 75-Cole Suckow, [7].

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 21T-Taylor Ovrebo, [2]; 2. 24M-Adam Martinson, [4]; 3. 27-Channing Warner , [6]; 4. 36K-Jayden Larson, [5]; 5. 83X-Kadden Kath, [7]; 6. 31-Raey Hastings IV, [3]; 7. (DNF) 5-Jesse Baer, [1].

Feature (18 laps): 1. 83X-Kadden Kath-Owatonna, [2]; 2. 36K-Jayden Larson-Mankato, [3]; 3. 88-Nate Chodur-Lake Mills IA, [7]; 4. 02-Cole Denner-New Hampton IA, [4]; 5. 44-Matthew Brooks-Austin, [11]; 6. Z29-Anthony (AJ) Zvorak-Blooming Prairie, [8]; 7. 14M-Brian Mahlstedt-Ionia IA, [10]; 8. 34-Jeremy Schaufenbuel-New Hampton IA, [1]; 9. 24M-Adam Martinson-Plymouth, [9]; 10. 75-Cole Suckow-Cresco IA, [13]; 11. 31-Raey Hastings IV-Austin, [12]; 12. (DNF) 27-Channing Warner-Owatonna , [5]; 13. (DNF) 21T-Taylor Ovrebo-Wells, [6]; (DNS) 5-Jesse Baer-Minnesota Lake.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group