Moody, Smith triumph at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
July 29, 2017  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Jim Moody won the USRA Modified feature.

Race fans and drivers enjoyed a respite from the recent hot and muggy weather at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) on Saturday evening as 89 drivers competed on KDKD and AG 1280 Radio Night. By the end of the night, Jim Moody claimed the USRA Modified feature and Brad Smith from Belton took his second Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win of the year.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature commenced with Chris Brockway out front after a few attempts to start the feature. Then, Moody took command of the race as Smith stalked him lap after lap. After several cautions slowed the pace, Moody seemed to have the feature in his hands but a lapped car spun in front of him leaving him with no place to go and ultimately relegating him to the back of the field.

Smith inherited the lead and never looked back as he grabbed his second feature win this season. Jacob Ebert looked strong again and finished in second just in front of a charging Steven Clancy Jr., in third. Michael Bixby, Chad Staus and Brockway completed the top six.

Brad Smith won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

This week during the USRA Modified heat races the fans had a chance to see some thrilling action as 22 drivers attempted to improve their starting feature positions through the passing points system. Gunner Martin, Kevin Blackburn and Moody claimed the respective heat wins.

The feature started disjointed with several attempts to complete the early laps as Moody took command from the start. Martin, Blackburn and Dalton Kirk moved around the track looking for an advantage just behind the leader. On lap four, a grinding crash occurred after a single-car spin turned into a lane blocking pileup in turn four leaving several drivers out of the event.

Finally, after the early race uneasiness, the racers finally settled down as Moody outlasted the field through lapped traffic later in the race. Blackburn returned to form with a solid finish in second as Kerry Davis fought off Kirk on several occasions to finish in third. Kirk was fourth with tenth-starting Dean Wille advancing to fifth at the finish.

Kid’s Night returns to CMS on Saturday, August 5th with pit gates opening at 4:30, grandstands at 5. Driver pill draw closes at 6:15. Late drivers will not be awarded passing points. Call the track report line on race day at 660-747-2166 if something prevents you from arriving on time. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps roll out at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30.

General admission adults $12, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday in 2017! Pit passes for anyone entering the pits up to age 79 are $30.

Kids ages toddler on up to age 12 will receive a free hot dog and soda and will go home with goodie bags full of donated items from drivers, fans and track personnel, including school supplies, hero cards, coupons, and other goodies. Kids will also compete in girls and boys foot races on the track during the intermission break and there will be several opportunities to win stuffed backpacks and bikes for all kids in attendance.

Although it seems too early to think about fall racing, October will be here before a blink of an eye and this year CMS has one additional huge event planned for Friday, October 20th and Saturday, October 21st for the first annual ‘Triple SSS at CMS’ Street Stock Showdown. Drivers will gun for a $5,000 payday on the hollowed grounds of CMS over this two-day event. USRA B-Mods are also part of the program each night. You can find all you need to know for the Triple SSS weekend on the CMS website under the heading of Street Stock Showdown Headquarters at

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at Join our email group by emailing Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction,, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, July 29, 2017

1. (3) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
2. (5) 94 Jacob Ebert, Oak Grove, Mo.
3. (17) 12C Steve Clancy Jr., Odessa, Mo.
4. (12) 20 Michael Bixby, Harrisonville, Mo.
5. (13) C3 Chad Staus, Otterville, Mo.
6. (2) 03 Chris Brockway, Warrensburg, Mo.
7. (1) 73 Cody Frazon, LaMonte, Mo.
8. (24) 0 Chase Galvan, Bonner Springs, Kan.
9. (11) 05 Jeremy Lile, Higginsville, Mo.
10. (16) 17J Jake Richards, Lansing, Kan.
11. (8) 28s Bill Small, Holden, Mo.
12. (6) 10R Russell Niehoff, Lockwood, Mo.
13. (10) 30 Rex Harris, Urbana, Mo.
14. (4) 00 Jim Moody, Odessa, Mo.
15. (14) 27 Jacob Callahan, Warrensburg, Mo.
16. (20) 99E Emma Martin, Platte City, Mo.
17. (7) 81 Jeff Jackson, Liberty, Mo.
18. (22) B Blake Davidson, Mokane, Mo.
19. (15) 13k Chris Kitch, Columbia, Mo.
20. (19) 72M Mark McGuire, Pleasant Hill, Mo.
21. (26) 77R Mack Ray, Fayette, Mo.
22. (9) 49 Shane Patch, Overland Park, Kan.
23. (18) 53 Monty Mitchell, Windsor, Mo.
24. (21) 15S Kody Bray, Archie, Mo.
25. (25) 33B Austin O’Bryan, Independence, Mo.
26. (23) 76L Jonathan Lucas, Fayette, Mo.

1. (1) 6w Jim Moody, Odessa, Mo.
2. (3) 26K Kevin Blackburn, Fulton, Mo.
3. (9) 16s Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
4. (4) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
5. (10) 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo.
6. (6) 97K Brian Johnson, Independence, Mo.
7. (12) 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar, Mo.
8. (13) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
9. (18) 24JR James Dean Eaton, Bates City, Mo.
10. (15) 17K Kyle Westerhold, Blue Springs, Mo
11. (19) 23 Steve Twenter, Sedalia, Mo.
12. (17) 19B Kaleb Bray, Archie, Mo.
13. (16) 7d7 Kyle Covert, Topeka, Kan.
14. (21) 00k Zack Gilmore, Kansas City, Mo.
15. (20) 32p Nick Pence, Raymore, Mo.
16. (7) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
17. (2) 75 Gunner Martin, Sugar Creek, Mo.
18. (5) 33 Clint Lyle, Raymore, Mo.
19. (14) 48 Jimmy Dowell, Booneville, Mo.
DQ - (8) 96 Danny Barker, Kansas City, Kan.
DQ - (11) 12V Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia, Mo.
DNS - 75RPM Scotty Martin, Independence, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group