Cummins wins seventh at Deer Creek
Print this page
August 12, 2017  |  by Todd Narveson

It was a picture perfect night for racing at Deer Creek Speedway this week. Ninety-one cars checked in to battle it out on the speedway. This week’s event was presented by Compeer Financial and Ruehlow Farms.

After the redraw for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, former track and USRA national champion Brandon Hare was on the pole with Parker Hale flanked to his outside. Hare led lap one with Hale and Channing Warner in hot pursuit. A caution on lap three would slow the race down.

On the start, Dustin Kruse passed Warner for third and was close behind Hare and Hale. Warner then had his hands full when Kadden Kath and Jim Chisholm moved up to challenge. Kruse got by Hale for second and Chisholm was a rocket on the top side and was up to third.

Chisholm shot past Kruse for second and then another caution would keep the lead pack close together. Kruse would battle Hare for the lead on the restart and Kadden Kath was up to third. Kruse stole the lead on lap eight and the yellow flag returned on lap nine.

Hale returned to second on the start while Chisholm and Hare raced for third. Chisholm got to third and then Hale, Kruse and Chisholm went three wide for the lead on lap 12. Kruse was again up front one lap later by a scant .05-of a second.

A caution on lap 15 set up a three lap dash to the finish. Kruse led the rest of the way for his second win in a row and third of the season. Hale finished in second with Chisholm in third. Derek Clement made some late race moves to finish in fourth with Jerry Young in the top five.

Dustin Kruse won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Josh Angst and Jason Cummins led the Napa Auto Care Centers USRA Modifieds to the green flag for their 25-lap feature. Cummins took the lead while Angst gave chase. Dustin Sorensen moved to third followed by Brad Waits.

Cummins pulled away from the pack while Angst held a solid second. Waits passed Sorensen for third on lap six. The leaders moved into lapped traffic and Angst was able to reel in Cummins on lap 16. Once the leaders had a clear track Cummins opened up the lead once again.

Cummins cruised to his seventh win of the year with Angst second. Waits would finish in the third spot while Sorensen was fourth. Joe Horgdal had a good run to round out the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 12, 2017


Heat #1: 1. 90-Steve Wetzstein, [1]; 2. 19-Dustin Sorensen, [7]; 3. 24-Brad Waits, [8]; 4. 3C-Chet Atkinson, [2]; 5. 4A-Joel Alberts, [6]; 6. 1A-Dwaine Hanson, [4]; 7. 57-Jim King, [3]; 8. 20.-David Wytaske, [5].

Heat #2: 1. 71-Jason Cummins, 03:55.884[3]; 2. 01-Brandon Aggen, 03:58.548[1]; 3. 99-Josh Angst, 03:58.926[8]; 4. 8S-Tony Schill, 04:00.211[2]; 5. 29H-Joe Horgdal, 04:00.350[4]; 6. 20-Mark Motl, 04:01.091[6]; 7. 31-Bill Stettner, 04:03.394[5]; 8. (DNF) 23-Darwyn Karau, 00:55.249[7].

Feature: 1. 71-Jason Cummins, [2]; 2. 99-Josh Angst, [1]; 3. 24-Brad Waits, [6]; 4. 19-Dustin Sorensen, [4]; 5. 29H-Joe Horgdal, [5]; 6. 8S-Tony Schill, [8]; 7. 01-Brandon Aggen, [9]; 8. 4A-Joel Alberts, [7]; 9. 20-Mark Motl, [12]; 10. 3C-Chet Atkinson, [3]; 11. 90-Steve Wetzstein, [10]; 12. 23-Darwyn Karau, [16]; 13. 1A-Dwaine Hanson, [11]; 14. 20.-David Wytaske, [15]; 15. 31-Bill Stettner, [14]; 16. 57-Jim King, [13].


Heat #1: 1. 24C-Jim Chisholm, [1]; 2. 18-Anthony Johnston, [2]; 3. 18Y-Jerry Young, [8]; 4. 56H-Brandon Hare, [5]; 5. 24-Tanner Johnston, [3]; 6. 3A-Taylor Ausrud, [9]; 7. 73-Kenny Boge, [7]; 8. (DNF) 43-Nick Wagner, [6]; 9. (DNF) 10T-Trevor Fecht, [4].

Heat #2: 1. 95X-Shaun Walski, [2]; 2. 80J-Jared Van Deest, [1]; 3. 28-Parker Hale , [3]; 4. 27-Channing Warner , [6]; 5. 2-Andrew Bleess, [7]; 6. Z29-Anthony (AJ) Zvorak, [5]; 7. 30-Russell Quinnell, [4]; 8. 66Y-Shane Yohe, [9]; (DNS) 54J-Jett Sorensen.

Heat #3: 1. 83X-Kadden Kath, [1]; 2. 6-Dustin Kruse, [2]; 3. 198-Sam Weiben, [3]; 4. 4-Derek Clement, [7]; 5. 43B-Zach Brom, [6]; 6. 75-Cole Suckow, [4]; 7. 17-Justin Murray, [5]; 8. (DNF) 15W-Alex Williamson, [8].

Feature: 1. 6-Dustin Kruse, 19:11.449[3]; 2. 28-Parker Hale , 19:12.126[2]; 3. 24C-Jim Chisholm, 19:12.725[10]; 4. 4-Derek Clement, 19:13.788[12]; 5. 18Y-Jerry Young, 19:14.064[11]; 6. 56H-Brandon Hare, 19:14.817[1]; 7. 198-Sam Weiben, 19:15.458[6]; 8. 2-Andrew Bleess, 19:15.724[14]; 9. 83X-Kadden Kath, 19:16.733[5]; 10. 43B-Zach Brom, 19:17.154[15]; 11. 3A-Taylor Ausrud, 19:17.739[16]; 12. Z29-Anthony (AJ) Zvorak, 19:18.004[17]; 13. 43-Nick Wagner, 19:18.351[22]; 14. 18-Anthony Johnston, 19:18.745[9]; 15. 27-Channing Warner , 19:18.902[4]; 16. 24-Tanner Johnston, 19:18.971[13]; 17. 54J-Jett Sorensen, 19:19.527[26]; 18. 73-Kenny Boge, 19:20.661[19]; 19. 30-Russell Quinnell, 19:22.350[20]; 20. 17-Justin Murray, 19:23.115[21]; 21. (DNF) 80J-Jared Van Deest, 11:08.969[8]; 22. (DNF) 10T-Trevor Fecht, 11:10.265[25]; 23. (DNF) 75-Cole Suckow, 11:11.321[18]; 24. (DNF) 66Y-Shane Yohe, 10:53.305[23]; 25. (DNF) 95X-Shaun Walski, 08:06.743[7]; 26. (DNF) 15W-Alex Williamson, 00:40.228[24].

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group