Elliott, Wray, Keller smokin' hot at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
August 12, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

Dennis Elliott won the USRA Modified feature.

Great BBQ was prepared by 25 different teams at the 2nd Annual Smokin’ Trackside BBQ Bash at I-35 Speedway with Dirt Road BBQ winning the grand champion trophy.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods had side by side high flying action from start to finish as heat winners Randy Ainsworth and Daniel Harris would square off in the front of the field. Ainsworth would take the top spot and set sail with Harris #07 in tow until the always present Doug Keller would work the inside line to perfection moving by Harris to challenge for the front. Ainsworth would race the high side with Keller low as the race continued. Ainsworth would lead every lap except the one that counted as Keller would make the pass coming to the checkers an pick up the feature win. As Keller would celebrate in victory lane, Ainsworth would place second with Harris third. Fourth would see a very fast Blake Pierce with Bud Wilson a solid fifth place run.

Doug Keller won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Holley USRA Stock Cars would not disappoint as the very best in the racing division prepared to do battle. Brett Heeter would take the front away from heat winner Aaron Sauter on the start and use the high line to pull ahead until a caution would bunch the field. On the ensuing restart Dean Wray would work the inside proving the multiple lanes on the excellent track and move side by side with Heeter. Heeter would change his line giving Wray the top and he would take advantage pulling ahead and on to McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. In victory lane Wray would give lots of credit to Heeter saying he is one tough customer on the track. Heeter would end the night second with an impressive run by Gary Donaldson finishing third. Matthew Lance was your fourth place driver with Keith Simmons a close and solid fifth on the night. Other heat winner was Anthony Whitham.

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock feature.

USRA Modifieds would charge to the track wrapping up our night of great racing action. Dennis Elliott would win both his heat and the feature leading every lap and parking in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Derrick Hicks would search high and low on the racing surface but have to settle for a second place finish on the night. Jared Stiens continues to impress as he would win heat race and place a solid third in the feature holding off the hard charge of fourth place finisher Chad Clancy. Fifth place would see Billie Hoover again notch a top five finish.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 12, 2017


1. 7 Doug Keller
2. 57 Randy Ainsworth
3. 07 Daniel King
4. 16 Blake Pierce
5. 22W Bud Wilson
6. 15 Ed Noll
7. 10 Johnny McGinnis
8. 81 Jacob Blair
9. 22B Mitch Booher
10.  14B Austin Bouzek
11.  72 Anthony Hill
12.  94 Jared Hillyard
13.  97J Jeff Elder


1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 05 Brett Heeter
3. 28D Gary Donaldson
4. 12X Matthew Lance
5. 5K Keith Simmons
6. 83A Aaron Sauter
7. 26L Anthony Whitham
8. 34X Mich Ross
9. G23 Greg Gilbert
10.  55 Drew Huff
11.  S20 Gene Stigall


1. 29 Dennis Elliott
2. 78 Derrick Hicks
3. 59 Jared Stiens
4. 21C Chad Clancy
5. 99 Billie Hoover
6. 17X Nic Hanes
7. 2H John Hanson
8. 97 Houston Johnson
9. 31 David Coates
10.  54 Buz Kaster
11.  11 Darren Shaw
12.  98 Austin Johnson
13.  96J Dustin Crist

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group