Cummins, Boumeester best at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
August 11, 2017  |  by Matthew Grage

Jason Cummins won the USRA Modified feature.

A nice field of 93 cars filled the pits for the 10th night of racing action at Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minn., on Friday night. Although many nights have been lost to rain this summer, when conditions have allowed racing its been great action, and Friday night saw more hotly contested battles.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature saw some of the most exciting action of the night with Jared Boumeester of Waseca, who was making his first visit to the track this year, coming away with a thrilling win. A.J. Zvorak of Blooming Prairie grabbed the early lead off the pole. While he ran the high line around the track, Boumeester, who came from just behind him in row two ran the low line. Lap after lap Jared showed himself inside AJ on both ends of the track nosing ahead out of the corners but each time AJ lead at the line. On lap three Jared had the advantage at the line only to have AJ get control again on lap six. Jayden Larson of Mankato was running the line just below Zvorak and actually was shown in second a few times in the first half of the race as he beat Jared to the line on a few occasions but Jared stayed committed to his line. Just past the halfway point of the race Boumeester took back control of the second spot and with four laps to go went back to the lead. Larson moved up to second and a lap later. Zvorak’s good run went away shortly after that as he made some contact with Derek Clement of Spring Valley while trying to stay in the battle for the lead. Clement, who had a heat win earlier in the night had charged his way up into the battle, ended up having to go the pits while Zvorak was sent tail end for the final restart. Boumeester held off Larson from there for the win with Scott Demmer of Ellendale capping a nice run with a third place finish. Jared also had a heat win on the night giving him a sweep for his night.

Jared Boumeester won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Jason Cummins continued his dominating season in the USRA Modified class. Cummins, who leads the National Points Race as well, scored his seventh feature win of the season at Chateau. Cummins worked from row five up to fifth on the first lap and from there picked off one car a lap as he put his machine at the head of the field. Keith Tourville of Webster Wisconsin lead the opening laps of the race before Jason took over the top spot on lap five. Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Austin, along with Joe Horgdal of Kasson put on a good show with Tourville in a three-wide battle for second. Pfeifer eventually took control of that spot with Tourville settling into third. Jacob Dahle of Morristown worked up from a row six starting spot to take the fourth spot away from Horgdahl at the end. Cummins also had a heat win on the night giving him a sweep in the class for the fourth time this year. Pfeifer had the other heat win.

Just three Friday nights are left in the season with the next action scheduled for next Friday, Aug. 18, at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Aug. 11, 2017


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr., [1]; 2. 1A-Dwaine Hanson, [4]; 3. 1-Greg Jensen, [2]; 4. 111JR-Keith Tourville, [6]; 5. 77-Jacob Stark, [5]; 6. (DNF) 02-Jacob Dahle, [3].

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins, [2]; 2. 29H-Joe Horgdal, [3]; 3. 55-Brian Shaw, [5]; 4. 20JR-David Wytaske, [6]; 5. (DNF) 23-Darwin Karau, [1]; (DNS) 72-Doug Hillson, ; (DNS) 23B-Brett Bumgardner.

Feature 1 (25 laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins-New Richland, [9]; 2. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr.,-Austin [3]; 3. 111JR-Keith Tourville-Webster WI, [1]; 4. 02-Jacob Dahle-Morristown, [11]; 5. 29H-Joe Horgdal-Kasson, [5]; 6. 23-Darwin Karau-Kasson, [10]; 7. 23B-Brett Bumgardner-Hawkeye IA, [13]; 8. 1-Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, [8]; 9. (DNF) 77-Jacob Stark-Austin, [2]; 10. (DNF) 20JR-David Wytaske JR-Grand Meadow, [4]; 11. (DNF) 1A-Dwaine Hanson-Lakefield, [7]; 12. (DNF) 55-Brian Shaw-Brownsdale, [6]; (DNS) 72-Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie.


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 4-Derek Clement, [1]; 2. 411-Jerry Young, [5]; 3. 82-Ryan Stebbins, [2]; 4. 21T-Taylor Ovrebo, [4]; 5. 44-Matthew Brooks, [3]; (DNS) 26G-Tim Gerber, ; (DQ) 81K-Caleb Korpi, [7].

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 81-Jared Boumeester, [3]; 2. 83X-Kadden Kath, [5]; 3. 36K-Jayden Larson, [4]; 4. 30-Scott Demmer, [7]; 5. Z29-A.J. Zvorak, [6]; 6. 31-Raey Hastings IV, [2]; 7. 5-Jesse Baer, [1].

Feature 1 (18 laps): 1. 81-Jared Boumeester-Waseca, [3]; 2. 36K-Jayden Larson-Mankato, [2]; 3. 30-Scott Demmer-Ellendale, [4]; 4. 18y-Jerry Young-Blooming Prairie, [7]; 5. 83X-Kadden Kath-Owatonna, [5]; 6. Z29-A.J. Zvorak-Blooming Prairie, [1]; 7. 44-Matthew Brooks-Austin, [11]; 8. 31-Raey Hastings IV-Austin, [10]; 9. 81K-Caleb Korpi-Claremont, [14]; 10. (DNF) 82-Ryan Stebbins-Dundas, [9]; 11. (DNF) 5-Jesse Baer-Minnesota Lake, [12]; 12. (DNF) 4-Derek Clement-Spring Valley, [6]; 13. (DNF) 21T-Taylor Ovrebo-Wells, [8]; 14. (DNF) 26G-Tim Gerber-Austin, [13].

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group