Fast Shafts await Grant Junghans Memorial winners
Print this page
August 18, 2017

Sneak a peek underneath just about any modified circling America’s dirt racks today and you’ll find a Fast Shafts driveshaft putting the power to the back wheels.

Why? Because Fast Shafts aren’t just fast, they’re usually first.

Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway, Fast Shafts will award a brand new carbon fiber driveshaft to the both the USMTS Modified and Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event winners at the 2nd Annual Grant Junghans Memorial.

Headquartered in Des Moines, Iowa, Fast Shafts has been producing driveshafts for race cars since 1992, and the staff at Fast Shafts takes pride in building each driveshaft to exact specifications.

Owner Pat Fagen has been involved in racing for more than 35 years and has over a quarter-century of on-track testing experience. All Fast Shafts driveshafts are balanced using only the finest balancing equipment.

Fast Shafts rides with more USMTS winners than any other manufacturer. Call Fast Shafts today at 800-622-6617 or visit them online at to help you get to the finish line faster.

The racing world lost one of its finest ambassadors in March of 2016, and the Grant Junghans Memorial is an opportunity for his fans, family and friends to remember the good times and racing memories shared in his 27 years with us.

Junghans was first diagnosed with cancer in February of 2010. Despite on-again off-again chemotherapy treatments and numerous surgeries, he never lost his sense of humor, fighting spirit or natural-born tendency to be decent to others.

He was also the 2009 USMTS Rookie of the Year. The award has since been renamed in his honor.

The one-day event will once again pay $10,002 to the winner of the United States Modified Touring Series main event, with no less than $1,002 to each of the feature race starters. Lucas Schott of Chatfield, Minn., topped the inaugural event last year, besting nearly 100 of the most prolific field of dirt modified drivers ever assembled.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will be racing for $2,222 to win and $222 to start their “A” Main.

Sponsors stepping up to make this race possible include Shop Quik Stores, ARMI Contractors, Rick Beebe Heating & Air Conditioning, Ramirez Motorsports, Rancho Milagro Racing, River’s Edge Scrap Management, Kenny’s Tile, Seeburg Muffler, Malvern Bank,, Shell Oil, Boubin Tire & Automotive/Real Racing Wheels, Town Oilfield Service, 33z Racing/VanderBuilt Race Cars, A&A Electric & Underground, MB Customs Race Cars, “Gator” & Lana Calhoun and Fast Shafts. An unbelievable fireworks show presented by Kenny’s Tile will also be a part of the night.

Contingency awards will be awarded by Allstar Performance, American Racer Racing Tires, Beyea Custom Headers, BigDeal Car Care, BSB Manufacturing, Casey’s General Stores, Chix Gear Racewear, Day Motor Sports, Deatherage Opticians, Dickson Racing Shocks, E3 Spark Plugs, Edelbrock, Fast Shafts, Fuel Safe Racing Cells, GRT Race Cars, Hooker Custom Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, KSE Racing Products, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1 Precision Products,, Real Racing Wheels, Simpson Performance Products, Summit Racing Equipment, Sweet Manufacturing, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Tire Demon, Wehrs Machine & Race Products, VP Racing Fuels and Wilwood Disc Brakes.

Payout for the 2nd Annual Grant Junghans Memorial main event: 1. $10,002, 2. $6002, 3. $4502, 4. $3502, 5. $2702, 6. $2202, 7. $1802, 8. $1602, 9. $1502, 10. $1402, 11. $1302, 12. $1252, 13. $1202, 14. $1152, 15. $1125, 16. $1102, 17. $1092, 18. $1082, 19. $1072, 20. $1062, 21. $1052, 22. $1045, 23. $1042, 24. $1035, 25. $1032, 26. $1025, 27. $1022, 28. $1015, 29. $1012, 30. $1002.

Drivers making a long-distance trek to the event are eligible for the following Long Tow Bonus: 1. $500, 2. $400, 3. $300, 4. $200, 5. $200. You must be pre-entered in order to be eligible for the Long Tow Bonus.

Pits open at 2 p.m., spectator gates open at 5, hot laps start at 7 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission seating is $20 for adults, $15 for kids ages 11-15. Children ages 10 and under get in for free. Terrace admission is $25 for adults. A limited number of suite tickets are available for $30. Pit passes are $35. Advance tickets can be purchased by calling the USMTS office at (515) 832-7944.

Coupons good for $2 off adult admission available at Casey's General Stores locations in Basehor, Kansas City, Lenexa and Overland Park, plus Belton, Blue Springs, De Soto, Grain Valley, Independence, Kansas City, Kearney, Lees Summit, Shawnee and Smithville in Missouri. To find the location nearest you, visit

For fans unable to be there in person, will carry every lap of every class live.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). For more information, call (913) 299-9206 or visit

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like USRA Racing on Facebook at, follow on Twitter and check out the USRA YouTube channel at Keep up to speed with everything USRA by joining our email list at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Argo Manufacturing, CP-Carrillo, Fast Shafts, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Mesilla Valley Transportation,,, Summit Racing Equipment, The Joie of Seating.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ASi Racewear, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads,,

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Aero Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Beyea Custom Headers, Day Motor Sports, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe, Genesis Racing Shocks, Holley Performance, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1 Precision Products, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics.

USRA MEMBER TRACKS: Atchison County Raceway, Aztec Speedway, Badlands Motor Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Flint Creek Speedway, I-35 Speedway, Lake Ozark Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Legit Speedway Park, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Midway Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Missouri State Fair Speedway, Monett Speedway, Nobles County Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Rapid Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sioux Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Tri-State Speedway, U.S. 36 Raceway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, White Mountain Speedway Park, Wichita Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group