Schlumbohm wins Nobles County Speedway USRA Hobby Stock special
Print this page
August 19, 2017  |  by Steve Zwemke

Redemption came in the form of an extremely well-earned Schwalbach Plumbing and Heating USRA Hobby Stock victory for Tyler Schlumbohm Saturday night at Nobles County Speedway. The Sioux Falls, S.D., driver, who had a win stripped away a week earlier after post-race tech, led every lap en route to a $600 share of the purse while being pursued by some nameworthy competition.

Schlumbohm started on the pole next to three time defending USRA Hobby Stock national champion and current co-points leader Dustin Gulbrandson. Gulbrandson actually got by Schlumbohm a couple of times but never led at the flagstand. Justin Luinenberg finished second ahead of Gulbrandson. Luinenberg, Dan Strandberg, Chanse Hollatz and Ryan Mulder all made charges toward the lead throughout the feature. Schlumbohm fought off every competitor for his first career win at NCS.

Luke Sathoff didn’t have to work quite as hard for his fourth Holley USRA Stock Car win. Sathoff ran with the pole to lead all 18 laps with a fairly nice cushion over the rest of the field.

Roger Verdoorn ran second for most of the race until Rich Gregoire snuck by to finish in that position. Gregoire remains second to Sathoff in the standings although the difference is now 38 points. Sathoff has finished in the top five in all but one feature this season.

Big Orv’s Bar in Adrian, Minn., forked over a $150 bonus to Miah Christensen after his Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win. Christensen earned the extra cash for winning back-to-back with Friday’s show at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa.

Christensen started seventh and moved up quickly. He passed his son Cole to get to third. He also maneuvered by Tyler Johnson and Curt Ahlers to grab the lead. Later restarts failed to stop Christensen’s momentum as he chalked up his first NCS win of the season. Johnson finished second ahead of Justin Luinenberg who was behind the wheel of the Widboom Motorsports No. 17x.

Only three cars competed in the Afterhour Awards and Graphics USRA Tuner class. Joshua Uhl was well on his way to victory until mechanical problems slowed him on the final lap.

The win fell right into Scott Espey’s lap as the third competitor, Dylan Schreier, had already dropped out. Espey’s win was his second and he leads Schreier by 10 points with two weeks remaining in the regular season.

This Thursday, Aug. 24, the Nobles County Speedway hosts the USMTS Modifieds in their Hunt for the Casey's Cup, along with the Iron Man Challenge featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, plus action in the USRA Hobby Stocks.

See more information by going to or check out NCS’s Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017


Feature: 1. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 2. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 3. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 4. Ron Prins (Sibley, IA), 5. Spencer Kalass (Luverne, MN), 6. Derrick Nordstrom (Sioux Falls, SD), 7. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 8. Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), DNF: Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD).

Heat winner: Roger Verdoorn.


Feature: 1. Miah Christensen (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Tyler Johnson (Montrose, SD), 3. Justin Luinenberg (Reading, MN), 4. Dave Kennedy (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Eric Faber (Sioux Center, IA), 6. Randy Klein (Currie, MN), 7. Josh Appel (Mason City, IA), 8. Chris Goetz (Centerville, SD), 9. Darrin Noyes (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), DNF: Cullen De Ruyter (Ruthton, MN), Cole Christensen (Sioux Falls, SD), Dan Ahlers (Slayton, MN), Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD).

Heat winners: Dan Ahlers, Chris Goetz.


Feature: 1. Tyler Schlumbohm (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Justin Luinenberg (Reading, MN), 3. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Ryan Mulder (Harrisburg, SD), 5. Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), 6. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 7. Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), 8. Blake Arends (Little Rock, IA), 9. Ernie Dailey (Worthington, MN), 10. Chanse Hollatz (Clear Lake, IA), 11. Todd Uhl (Sheldon, IA), 12. Jake Manitz (Sibley, IA), 13. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 14. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 15. Nick Janssen (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Justin Regnerus (Middleburg, IA), Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), Parker Anderson (Welcome, MN), Terry Larsen (Sioux Falls, SD), Travis Christensen (Sioux Falls, SD).

Heat winners: Dustin Gulbrandson, Dan Stradberg, Tyler Schlumbohm.


Feature: 1. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 2. Joshua Uhl (Luverne, MN), DNF: Dylan Schreier (Hadley, MN).

Heat winner: Scott Espey.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group