Jones, Flores revisit victory lane at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Print this page
August 26, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Bumper Jones won the USRA Modified feature.

Drivers and fans couldn't stop talking about the race track conditions on Saturday night at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. By hot laps the race track was in excellent shape. Every heat race had three-wide racing with close finishes.

The Holley USRA Stock Cars had a rough start as four cautions flew before five laps were completed. It was the Jed Smith show until he spun while leading in turns three and four. On the restart, Pete Vargas stole the lead. Donovan Flores would sneak to the front on lap 10. Jaime Torres would follow. Lapped traffic came into play with five to go. At the end Torres was faster than Flores, but lapped traffic made them dance around. At the end, Torres had a good run on the exit of four but it was still Flores at the line as he picks up another Holley USRA Stock Car main event win.

It was a fast track for the USRA Modifieds as the 25-lap feature started with Butch Reid Jr. leading the way. Reid unloaded his car before the races to find out the left front shock mount was broken. A quick weld would solve the problem and performed good as he lead the first six laps until a caution flew. On the restart, Bumper Jones would waste no time. Three laps after the restart Jones would open up to a half-straight-away lead. Christy Barnett and Reid battled for second behind. A back-to-back caution era flew on lap nine. It didn't stop Jones as he would run away this time by a whole straight-away with eight laps to go. Barnett had a fast machine on the bottom holding onto second as Jones would run away to win the USRA Modified main event.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group