Ledford claims second, Guinn picks up third win at Tri-State Speedway
Print this page
August 27, 2017  |  by Rob Nugent

Kyle Ledford won the USRA Modified feature.

The 13th points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway saw three first-time winners with two others repeating their feats. Mother Nature was everyone’s friend this previous week with cooler than normal temperatures and plenty of time for the new track management to extensively prep the track after a few weeks off.

The pre-race ceremonies for the 9th Annual Tillman Evans Memorial kicked off at 7:50 p.m. with a brief history about the late Tillman Evans. The invocation by Creyson Hoover followed, as well as the playing of the National Anthem while a few parade laps, led by Tillman’s grandson, Ty Evans.

The third feature on the track was for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods. Kevin Guinn of Fayetteville, Ark., went to victory lane for the third time this season as points leader Lonny Flanagan ttook home second place over Chad Summerford.

Kevin Guinn won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks next for their feature. Kyle Ledford of Greenwood, Ark., was able to pick up his second win of the season over Tate Cole. George Martin repeated his previous performance with a third-place finish. The class points lead remains with Trevor Latham.

Tri-State Speedway will return to action again on Aug. 31-Sept. 2 for the Bravado Wireless USRA Modified Fall Classic that will feature a possible $3,000 to win over two days. Complete information on this event can be found at www.Tri-StateSpeedway.com.

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 p.m. with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5. Driver’s meeting is at 7 and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tri-State Speedway, Pocola, Okla.
Saturday, Aug. 26, 2017


Feature (20 laps): 1. 788-Kevin Guinn, [6]; 2. 7-Lonny Flanagan, [4]; 3. 03-Chad Summerford, [1]; 4. 2-Daniel Tarkington, [3]; 5. 17-Luke Leatherman, [8]; 6. 28-Dean Green, [10]; 7. 1B-Ken McCarty, [12]; 8. 33-Bobby Ward, [5]; 9. 53-Tyler Milner, [7]; 10. 41N-Beau Nelson, [9]; 11. 5-Wesley Bourne, [2]; 12. 10G-Frank Stapp, [14]; 13. 52-Preston Crawford, [13]; 14. 17F-Vernon Flournoy, [11]; 15. 22-Donald Hubbard, [15].


Feature (20 laps): 1. 75-Kyle Ledford, [8]; 2. 89-Tate Cole, [2]; 3. 15-George Martin, [1]; 4. 8-Jeremy Vaughn, [6]; 5. 33-Lonnie Robins, [11]; 6. 1/4-Brandon Hunter, [14]; 7. 7-Daniel Franklin, [4]; 8. 26-Brian Williams, [9]; 9. 5-Steve Holzkamper, [21]; 10. 49-Kayden Menasco, [12]; 11. 27L-Trevor Latham, [3]; 12. 57M-Michael Hines, [16]; 13. 6-Jason Payton, [7]; 14. III-Jon Nipp, [18]; 15. 74-Ken Bright, [15]; 16. 7H-Brett Hanson, [5]; 17. 00-Chris Ross, [10]; 18. 127-Andy Morris, [13]; 19. 7L-Lane Everett, [19]; 20. 10H-Randy Henson, [20]; 21. 7A-Brandon Adams, [17].

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group