Sanders, Wray, Richards winners at I-35 Speedway on Pro-Ag Services Night
Print this page
September 9, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Opening ceremonies would see I-35 Speedway honor the late Mike Knight with the releasing of balloons in his memory along with Mike and Kyle Johnson receiving an award for patriotism as we honored our veterans. Intermission would see fans and drivers pay respects to the late Bob Libbey one of the great voices of our sport. We recognized our current Hall-of-Famers and gave a sneak peek into the 2017 inductees we will honor at our banquet on Nov. 4.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, as always, would not disappoint the fans as they would go side by side and wheel to wheel throughout the field of competitors. Heat winner Randy Ainsworth would take the front early until Jake Richards would use the high line to move past and out front. Richards would hold all the other racers at bay and pick up his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway dedicating the win to the late Bob Libbey. Austin Kaplan would move to the front placing second with the ever present and front running Ed Noll third. Kameron Grindstaff would place a solid and consistent fourth on the night with point leader Bud Wilson ending the feature fifth. Other heat race winner was Jace Gay who would be up front until mechanical issue would take him form the race.

Jake Richards won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Like a broken record that keeps playing, Dean Wray would win heat race and feature in Holley USRA Stock Car bringing his victory total to 16 on the year. Louis Lynch, on his first visit to I-35 Speedway, would place second with Bud Wilson a rare appearance in a Holley USRA Stock Car third. Fourth place would go to Calvin Teel with Jay Barnes rounding out the night’s top five.

With a loaded field of competitors USRA Modifieds would storm to the track for exciting racing action. Heat winner Dennis Elliott would jump to the front of the field and take the point appearing to be the car to beat. As Elliott would lead Zach Sanders would work his way through traffic to close in and challenge for the top spot. Sanders would show poise and patience as he would wait for Elliott to slip in turn four and move past on the inside taking the lead and the win on this night of competition picking up his first victory of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. As Sanders celebrated in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle the field knew they had been “ZachAttacked” on this evening. Elliott would place second with other heat winner and contender Clay Hale placing a close third. Fourth would see the of Gunner Martin with Sam Florence finishing the night of racing action a very solid fifth. Other heat winner was Billie Hoover.

Zach Sanders won the USRA Modified feature.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank you the fans and drivers for another night of stellar racing and family fun and hope to see everyone next Saturday night for Lake Road Warehouse Night.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Sept. 9, 2017


1. 17J Jake Richards
2. 1 Austin Kaplan
3. 15 Ed Noll
4. 14 Cameron Grindstaff
5. 22W Bud Wilson
6. 57 Randy Ainsworth
7. 16 Blake Pierce
8. 222 Colten Stevens
9. 22B Mitch Booher
10. 99M Skyler Nolker
11. 10H Garrett Hill
12. 38 Gary McGinnis
13. 94 Jared Hillyard
14. 29 Jace Gay


1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 71 Louis Lynch
3. 65X Bud Wilson
4. 55T Calvin Teel
5. 19 Jay Barnes
6. S20 Gene Stigall
7. G23 Greg Gilbert


1. 69 Zach Sanders
2. 29 Dennis Elliott
3. 22H Clay Hale
4. 75 Gunner Martin
5. 42 Sam Florence
6. 78 Derrick Hicks
7. 75M Scotty Martin
8. 54 Buz Kaster
9. 2H John Hanson
10. 31 David Coates
11. 175 Jason Park
12. 99J Billie Hoover
13. 60 William Gould
14. 97 Houston Johnson
15. 50 Matt Guilliaume
16. 59 Jared Stiens
17. 7D7 Kyle Covert
18. 98 Austin Johnson
19. 96J B.B. Tex

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group