Schrader has field covered in Brian Mize Memorial
Print this page
September 23, 2017  |  by Keith Pirtle

The Touring Outlaw Modified Series rolled into Waco, Texas, for the series' first trip to the Heart O’ Texas Speedway for the 3rd annual Bryan Mize Memorial.

The grandstands and pits were full and waiting to see what the TOMS brings to town, which included 36 cars ready to battle for the top spot including famed NASCAR veteran Ken Schrader.

With qualifying through heat races, Schrader brought his talent into the Big Texas Auto Parts top eight redraw. He found the perfect young racing fan to pull the number one spot to start the Day Motor Sports "A" Feature.

Schrader brought the field of 24 USRA Modifieds to the green flag, setting the pace for the first lap with Clyde Dunn Jr. at his side. Dunn got a nose past Schrader to lead lap two but going into turns one and two Schrader made the power slide in front of Dunn to reclaim the lead.

Back in third place, Jason Sartain was in a battle with current TOMS points runner-up Troy Taylor who made a power move in turns three and four to slide up in front of Sartain and take over the third spot.

Starting back in the field in the 14th starting spot, current TOMS points leader Triston Dycus started slicing and dicing his way to the front. On lap 15, Dycus slid past Sartain for the fourth spot and set his sights on Taylor in third.

With Schrader out front and Dunn close on his heels, they started dealing with lapped traffic. Taylor and Dycus battled close in their tracks, and things got a lot tighter. On lap 19 Dycus worked his way around Taylor for the third spot, hoping for a caution to give him a shot at the leaders.

But the caution never happened. Schrader did not make a slip and cruised on to collect his first of two feature wins for the evening as he collected his Triton Metal Works special trophies.

The Touring Outlaw Modified Series will race next on Saturday, Sept. 30, for the Larry Killian Memorial at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas, followed by the big show at the same location on Oct. 7.

Special Thanks to our sponsors: S&S Fishing & Rental, Day Motor Sports, Fritzphoto, Pulse Racing Innovation, Sunoco Racing Products, Five1Seven Designs, All-Star Signs by Wesley, KR Promotions, Superior Wheels, Frozen Ropes Training Center, Milt Clark Performance Warehouse, MLH Racing Products, Love Graphics, Wichita Tank, Wicked Race Cars, Precision Fabrication Race Car Bodies, Awards N More, OK Freightways, 41 Shocks, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Bailey’s Country Store & BBQ, Josh Landers & Family, Deatherage Opticians, C&P Pump Service, Ronny Welborne, Troy Taylor, Utility Trailers and JRW Enterprises.

Special thanks to the Kevin Rogers and Kevin Sustaire all of the Bryan Mize Memorial staff for your help and support of the TOMS.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Touring Outlaw Modified Series (TOMS)
Heart O’ Texas Speedway, Elm Mott, Texas
Saturday, Sept. 23, 2017


Heat #1: (56) Troy Taylor, (410) Ken Schrader, (47) Jack Sartain, (9r) Kevin Rutherford, (24) Sean Jones, (9c) Colby O’Neil, (73) Jim Knight.

Heat #2: (17) Jason Sartain, (5x) Danny Veal, ((3c) Charlie Smith, (34) Michael Walker, (66x) Mike Dillard, (51x) Danny Florence, (8) Skip ONeil, NS.

Heat #3: (74) Jasen Hammonds, (715 J.P. Dowell, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (14t) Triston Dycus, (82x) Greg Teske, (55) Nathan Hagar, (9k) Kirk Acord.

Heat #4: (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr., (71) Philip Houston, (78) Trevor Egbert, (11$) Scott Bough, (7) Sean Gaddis, (A1) Phil Dixon, (26) Dean Abbey.

Heat #5: (25d) Donnie Shipp, (01) Colby Smith, (7x) Rory Jordan, (2c) Chris Huckeba, (99) Ricky Henry Jr., (82) Jimmy Williams, (75) Kenny Densman.

B-Main #1: (66x) Mike Dillard, (26) Dean Abbey, (3c) Charlie Smith, (34) Michael Walker, (9r) Kevin Rutherford, (73) Jim Knight, (78) Trevor Egbert, (82) Jimmy Williams, (55) Nathan Hagar, (99) Ricky Henry Jr., (9c) Colby O’Neil.

B-Main #2: (14t) Triston Dycus, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (A1) Phil Dixon, (2c) Chris Huckeba, (11$) Scott Bough, (75) Kenny Densman, (51x) Danny Florence, (9k) Kirk Acord, (82x) Greg Teske, (7) Sean Gaddis, (24) Sean Jones, (8) Skip ONeil-NS.

Day Motor Sports A-Main: (410) Ken Schrader, (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr., (14t) Triston Dycus, (56) Troy Taylor, (26) Dean Abbey, (715) J.P. Dowell, (17) Jason Sartain, (5x) Danny Veal, (71) Philip Houston, (25d) Donnie Shipp, (47) Jack Sartain, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (01) Colby Smith, (74) Jasen Hammonds, (66x) Mike Dillard, (A1) Phil Dixon, (2c) Chris Huckeba, (9c) Colby O’Neil, (7x) Rory Jordan, (34) Michael Walker, (3c) Charlie Smith, (9k) Kirk Acord, (75) Kenny Densman, (51x) Danny Florence.

Lap Leaders: Schrader 1, Dunn 2, Schrader 3-25.

Contingency Awards:
Deathridge Opticians: Colby Smith, Teske, Florence.
Day Motor Sports Tire Winner: Henry.
Smiley’s/Superior Hard Charger: Dycus.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group