Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Print this page
January 13, 2018  |  by Lonnie Wheatley

Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified field in the 25-lap feature event atop the 1/3-mile FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway clay oval.

The MVT/Border International USRA Modifieds presented by Arizona Differential offered up the fifth different winner in as many rounds of action with the Las Cruvces, N.M. driver’s triumph from the third staring position.

Scott raced to the line ahead of his brother, Johnny Scott, Shane Sabraski, Lucas Schott and R.C. Whitwell.

The Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts concludes Sunday. Racing action gets under way at 6 p.m.

The Arizona Speedway is located just minutes from Phoenix. From Phoenix, take US 60 east to Ironwood Dr., turn right (south) and go four miles, Arizona Speedway is on the right hand side. For more information, visit or call 520-664-2074.

The 2018 Wild West Shootout is made possible by Keyser Manufacturing, O’Reilly Auto Parts, FK Rod Ends, Black Diamond/Club 29 Race Cars, M&W Transport, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Border International Trucks, Arizona Differential, RHR RacingSwag, Barnett Harley-Davidson, Hoker Trucking, Total Seal Piston Rings, Textron Off-Road, Shaw Trucking, M&S Concrete, AR Bodies, Earnhardt Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge Ram, Pro Power Engines, VP Racing Fuel and others.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call (515) 832-6000. You can also like USRA Racing on Facebook, follow  on Twitter and check out the USRA YouTube channel. Keep up to speed with everything USRA by joining our email list.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing Equipment USRA Weekly Racing Series
Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts - Round 5 of 6
FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway, San Tan Valley, Ariz.
Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018


The top 16 in heat race passing points advance to “A” Main with the balance transferring to two “B” Mains.

Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 6-Casey Skyberg, 2. 30-Matt Leer, 3. 5g-Scott Greer, 4. 19sb-Lance Mari, 5. 15k-Justin Kay, 6. X57-Richie Davis, 7. 111-Bumper Jones, 8. J17-Jake Gallardo, 9. 7-Ken McCleskey, 10. 101-Butch Reid, 11. 8a-Al Giesbrecht. DNS: 36-Ryan Cousins.

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 69-Lucas Schott, 2. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 3. 29d-Brad Dierks, 4. 7x-Jason Krohn, 5. 23x-Matt Gilbertson, 6. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 7. 98-Alex Stanford, 8. 65x-Carlos Ahumada, Jr., 9. G17-Fito Gallardo, 10. 27-Chris Unrau, 11. 2J-Blake Jegtvig, 12. 40jr-Bubba Stanford.

Heat #3 (8 laps): 1. 10c-Chad Olsen, 2. 0-Jake O’Neil, 3. 1st-Johnny Scott, 4. 96-R.C. Whitwell, 5. 99-Josh Angst, 6. 82-Christy Barnett, 7. 71h-Jesse Hoskins, 8. 2a-Casey Arneson, 9. 71-Dustin Strand, 10. 82-Austin Adams, 11. 18z-Zane Devilbiss.

Heat #4 (8 laps): 1. 2s-Stormy Scott, 2. 7a-Shane Sabraski, 3. 21-Austin Bonner, 4. 23-Adam Cates, 5. 1tpo-Tyler Peterson, 6. 131-Royal Jones, 7. 6d-Dylan Goplen, 8. 2-Rusty Koleman, 9. 33-Steve Muilenberg, 10. 65s-Carlos Ahumada, Sr. DNS: 232-Kent Arment.

“B” Main #1 (12 laps, top 4 advance): 1. 23x-Matt Gilbertson, 2. J17-Jake Gallardo, 3. 2a-Casey Arneson, 4. 131-Royal Jones, 5. 18z-Zane Devilbiss, 6. G17-Fito Gallardo, 7. 111-Bumper Jones, 8. 21-Austin Bonner, 9. 7-Ken McCleskey, 10. 36-Ryan Cousins, 11. 65s-Carlos Ahumada, Sr., 12. 23-Adam Cates. DNS: 71-Dustin Strand, 65x-Carlos Ahumada, Jr.

“B” Main #2 (12 laps, top 4 advance): 1. 19sb-Lance Mari, 2. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 3. 101-Butch Reid, 4. 71h-Jesse Hoskins, 5. 6d-Dylan Goplen, 6. 27-Chris Unrau, 7. 2-Rusty Koleman, 8. 98-Alex Stanford, 9. 33-Steve Muilenberg, 10. 99-Josh Angst, 11. 40jr-Bubba Stafford. DNS: 232-Kent Arment, 8a-Al Giesbrecht, 85-Austin Adams, 82-Christy Barnett.

“A” Main (25 laps): 1. 2s-Stormy Scott, 2. 1st-Johnny Scott, 3. 7a-Shane Sabraski, 4. 69-Lucas Schott, 5. 96-R.C. Whitwell, 6. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 7. 15k-Justin Kay, 8. 7k-Jason Krohn, 9. 5g-Scott Greer, 10. 10c-Chad Olsen, 11. 23x-Matt Gilbertson, 12. 1tpo-Tyler Peterson, 13. 2a-Casey Arneson, 14. 29d-Brad Dierks, 15. 19sb-Lance Mari, 16. J17-Jake Gallardo, 17. 30-Matt Leer, 18. X57-Richie Davis, 19. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 20. 6-Casey Skyberg, 21. 71h-Jesse Hoskins, 22. 131-Royal Jones, 23. 101-Butch Reid, 24. 0-Jake O’Neil.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group