Wetzstein snares Chateau Raceway opener
Print this page
April 20, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. -- After two weeks of snow and cold weather kept pushing back the season opener for racing at Chateau Raceway in Lansing things turned this past week. Sunshine and Dry weather finally arrived for Husqvarna and Chateau Raceway to kick off the 2007 racing season in Southern Minnesota.

The newly-sanctioned USRA Modifieds, sponsored by Noble RV, were dominated by Steve Wetzstein of West Concord.

Wetzstein not only won his heat but made a shambles of the feature which after a first lap caution went caution free for the final 24 laps.

By the time the race was done Steve had lapped much of the field and was on the same straightaway as the second, third and fourth place cars, which were in a tight battle for those positions.

Doug Hillson ended up taking second on the final lap when Josh Mattick of Lyle cut a tire and fell to fourth coming to the checkers.

The track held a unique promotion during the night for the kids. All the drivers in attendance signed there name and car number on a frisbee and before each feature the drivers tossed them into the stands. The youngsters who ended up with the frisbee of the winning driver after each main event took home a couple of movie tickets.

The track has several promotions for the kids lined up throughout the summer with next Friday night being FREE admission for the youngsters.

In two weeks the track is going to bring in hay wagons and give the kids rides through the pits before the races so they can see what goes on down there as the drivers are preparing there cars for the nights action.

Racing action is scheduled for 7:30 every Friday night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, April 20, 2007


Heat - 1. Steve Wetzstein, W. Concord; 2. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 3 . Josh Mattick, Lyle; 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 5. Larry Nelson, Hartland; 6. Ronnie Ross, Brownsdale; 7. Wally Bustad, Austin; 8. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; DNS - Matt Aarsvold, Oronoco.

Feature - 1. Wetzstein; 2. Hillson; 3. Jacob Dahle; 4. Mattick; 5. Jensen; 6. Nelson; 7. Bustad; 8. Ross; DNS - Aarsvold.

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group