Myer holds off Arpin in Lansing thriller
Print this page
May 18, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - Most nights of racing are talked about for a week or so and than there are nights that will be talked about all season long and continue to be discussed in seasons to come. Friday night's racing program was just such a night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing - Powered by Husqvarna. There was lots of great racing action all night long with plenty of two- and three-wide racing to keep everyone excited, but all people will be talking about is the final 12 laps of the night and the show put on by Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie and Steve Arpin of Fort Frances, Ont., Canada in the Noble RV USRA Modified feature event.

The race started simple enough with Mark Wytaske of Austin taking the early lead off the pole. Myer and Arpin along with Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie, Steve Wetzstein of West Concord, and Josh Mattick of Austin squaring up two and three wide for positions in the top five during the opening laps. Noble made a big move to the bottom of the track and shot to second and was working on Wytaske for the lead when he clipped him in turn 3, bringing out the first caution of the race. Wytaske was given his spot back and Noble was sent tail end for the restart.

A lap into the restart Mattick got into Arpin coming out of turn 2, twisting him a bit sideways which gathered up half the field into a big mess. When the field was sorted back out, just one car -- Dave Wytaske, Jr. of Mapleview -- ended up having to leave the track. Arpin made a quick pit stop to change a tire that was cut in the incident but rejoined the tail end of the field for the restart.

With Noble and Arpin both in the back fans were kept busy watching the front of the field as well as the hard chargers who had to work back through traffic. Up front Wetzstein and Myer had moved into first and second while Noble and Arpin were back in the top ten in just two laps. The two continued to charge forward and were in the top five as the race came to halfway. The field put up with several quick cautions before the race finally restarted cleanly. Myer had taken the lead just before the cautions came after several laps of side by side racing with Wetzstein.

Off one of the final restarts Arpin made a big move going outside on Alan Mondus of Woodbury who had done a nice job of moving into the top five, than staying wide he went around Wytaske than dove to the inside of Wetstein. As he checked into second place behind Myer he stayed low and pulled alongside Myer and the race to the checkers was on. For the rest of the race the two gave each other plenty of room as they race side by side. Arpin would nose ahead through the turns and Myer would out pull him out of the corners to continue to lead.

Each time at the line there was never more than inches seperating the difference between who was runing first or second, and each time Myer was shown as the leader until two to go when Arpin had his nose to the line first. Myer held his line on the top of the track and had the advantage back as the two took the white flag. On the final lap Arpin seemed to bobble a bit in turn two and Myer pulled ahead down the back straightaway. Arpin drove hard into turn 3, charging to the bottom to pull back alongside but Myer had the momentum he needed to come home with his second straight feature win of the year.

Wetzstein out-dueled Noble for third with Mondus getting the better of Wytaske for fifth. The night's heat winners in the class were Arpin, Noble and Joe Wernecke of Dodge Center. All three picked up there first wins of the year at the track.  More of the same kind of action is expected Thursday night as most of these same drivers and more are expected to be on hand for the 10th Annual Mike Guttormson Memorial Race.  The track will also host the regular show next Friday night. Both nights race time will be 7:30.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, May 18, 2007

Feature: Tommy Myer-Blooming Prairie, Steve Arpin-Fort Francis Ontario Canada, Steve Wetzstein-West Concord, Mark Noble-Blooming Prairie, Alan Mondus-Lakeville, Mark Wytaske-Austin, Tyler Rubin-Grand Meadow, Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie, Josh Mattick-Austin, Scott Vesely-Mosinee WI, Larry Nelson-Hartland, Corey Dripps-Waterloo IA, Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, Dennis Hillson- Blooming Prairie, Joe Wernecke-Dodge Center, Dave Wytaske, Jr.-Mapleview, Wally Bustad-Austin.

Heat 1: Wernecke, Jensen, Mattick, M. Wytaske, Vesely, Rubin.

Heat 2: Noble, Mondus, Wetzstein, Myer, Dennis Hillson, Dave Wytaske, Jr.

Heat 3: Arpin, Doug Hillson, Nelson, Bustad, Dripps.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group