Gustin garners Chateau Raceway checkers
Print this page
May 25, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - Chateau Raceway powered by Husqvarna was one for two over Memorial Day Weekend for their two scheduled racing events. Thursday night's 10th Annual Mike Guttormson Memorial, which was to be run in conunction with the O'Reilly USMTS, was a victim of two straight days of rain. Even though the skies cleared by mid-afternoon thursday there was not enough time to get the track back in shape for an enjoyable night of racing. The event has been rescheduled as part of the regular Friday night show on June 1. The event will not be an O'Reilly USMTS show, but there will be an increased purse for the show. The Modifieds, which Guttormson ran and now run under USRA rules, will be running for $1,000 to win and $200 to start the feature. That class only will also have their car entry fee waived for the night. The feature will be lined up on the draw-redraw system.

Friday night's regular program however was run under perfect conditions with a beautiful blue sky greeting fans and drivers for the fifth night of racing action during the 2007 season. A season high car count with 12 drivers making there first appearances of the season were among the highlights of the evening. The nights program was sponosred by Triple J Disposal, which also sponsors the Classic Dwarf Car class.

In the Noble RV USRA Modified feature event, it was another first-time visitor to the track making the biggest noise. Richie Gustin, Jr., of Gillman, Iowa, took home a pair of wins. He started with an easy heat win, leading flag to flag, but the feature required a little more work. Gustin bolted out of row 3 to second on the first lap of the race, falling in line behind Dave Wytaske, Jr., of Mapleview. Wytaske held the lead for one more lap before Gustin went to the front and never looked back.

Steve Arpin of Fort Frances, Ont., Canada, came up to second right behind Gustin on lap 3, but five laps later while circling the track under caution he had a tire go down which put him out of contention. Steve Wetzstein of West Concord took second ahead of Tyler Rubin of Grand Meadow. The other two heat wins went to Arpin and Wetzstein.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, May 25, 2007


Feature: 1. Richie Gustin, Gillman, Iowa; 2. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 3. Tyler Rubin, Grand Meadow; 4. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 5. Tyler Clark, Rochester; 6. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 7. Terry Timmerman, Stewartville; 8. Dave Wytaske, Jr., Mapleview; 9. Larry Nelson, Hartland; 10. Wally Bustad, Austin; 11. Ronnie Ross, Brownsdale; 12. Dennis Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 13. Mike Rumsey, Brownsdale; 14. Steve Arpin, Fort Frances, Ont., Canada; 15. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 16. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 17. Ben Rippentrop, Hayfield; 18. Josh Mattick, Austin; DNS - Greg Erickson, Chatfield.

Heat 1: 1. Wetzstein; 2. Wernecke; 3. Timmerman; 4. Nelson; 5. Bustad; 6. M. Wytaske; 7. Rippentrop.

Heat 2: 1. Arpin; 2. Doug Hillson; 3. D. Wytaske; 4. Ross; 5. Mattick; 6. Rumsey.

Heat 3: 1. Gustin; 2. Rubin; 3. Bustad; 4. Dennis Hillson; 5. Clark.

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
April 20, 2018
Scott, Egbert, Gillmore grab opening night checkers at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Opening night of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout was a windy and cold one, but the racing made it all worth it. Ninety-five cars and drivers accumulated within thread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group