Myer wins third at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 6, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. Miners Outdoor and Rec of Blooming Prairie sponsored the Annual Fourth of July Holiday Races Friday Night at Chateau Raceway powered by Husqvarna. The night of on the track fireworks were capped off with a spectacular "Flashing Thunder Fireworks Display" which left the crowd feeling the heat from the several fifty plus foot high balls of flame that capped the show from the infield grass.

The crowd seems to gear up for this big show every year as with the overhead fireworks being shot off just behind turn two it puts them as close as they can get to one of these displays.

A late caution served as the springboard for a feature winner in the Noble RV USRA Modified main event. Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie had taken the early lead in the feature after starting on the pole and after a couple of early cautions had worked his way to a pretty healthy lead on the field.

Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie had been working traffic and he made it up to third with about eight laps remaining.

That's where the late caution came into play. Myer went straight to the outside on the restart and went straight to the front and never looked back as he scored his third feature win of the year at Lansing.

Hillson came home second ahead of Steve Wetzstein of West Conocrd. Wetzstein is the current point leader in the class.

Ben Rippentrop of Hayfield and Jacob Dahle of Morristown garnered heat wins in the class.

Racing action continues next Friday night at 7:30 with all six classes scheduled to compete on "L and D Ag Night". The night's kids activities are being billed as "Christmas in July" so it should be an interesting night for racing and track giveaways.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 6, 2007


Heat 1: 1. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 2. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale; 3. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 4. Ronnie Ross, Brownsdale; 5. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 6. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 7. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 8. Craig Shaw, Adams.

Heat 2: 1. Ben Rippentrop, Hayfield; 2. Wally Bustad, Austin; 3. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 4. Josh Mattick, Austin; 5. Dennis Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 6. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 7. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 8. Larry Nelson, Hartland.

Feature: 1. Myer; 2. Doug Hillson; 3. Wetzstein; 4. C. Shaw; 5. Dahle; 6. D. Wytaske; 7. Dennis Hillson; 8. Wernecke; 9. M. Wytaske; 10. B. Shaw; 11. Bustad; 12. Nelson; 13. Mattick; 14. Rippentrop; 15. Ross; DNS - Jensen.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group