Donlinger captures Fall Nationals crown at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
September 28, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - Chateau Raceway, powered by Husqvarna, concluded its 2007 season of AMSOIL Dirt Track Racing Series action with its 2nd Annual Fall Midwest Modified Fall Nationals. The two nights of racing scheduled for Friday and Saturday night ended up being a single show on Friday night after rain washed out Saturday nights show and Sundays raindate. Great weather had drivers and fans out in great numbers for the Friday nights show with 127 cars in the six classes gunning for the final wins of the year.

Solid purses were on the line as well with the Noble RV USRA Modifieds running for $750 to win plus $250 bonus from "Fast Company of Mason City Iowa" making its actually $1000 to win. The Power 96 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were hunting a $750 to win payday. The WISSOTA Super Stocks and "Affordable Portables WISSOTA Street Stocks" meanwhile were each looking for the $400 paycheck that awaited there winners. The Albert Lea Pizza Ranch Pure Stocks purse featured a $100 to win prize and the S and S Auto Salvage Hornets were looking for the $75 to win paycheck awaiting them. Several other business were chipping in as well with several contingency awards from Aero Wheels, Fast Company, Bushore Transmissions, Sputts Racing Engines, JR Motorsports, Premiere Machine, Budweiser Beer, Pepsi Company, Powder Works, Thunderbolt Racing, Intercomp, and Action Engineering.

A nice field of twenty-seven USRA Modifieds filled the track for some exciting action as well Friday night with Tim Donlinger of Rochester making the most noise as he scored a sweep with heat and feature wins. Ryan York of Racine had the early lead in the main event after drawing the pole position for the race. Donlinger started right behind him on the inside of row two and they immediately stepped out first and second. While York was setting the pace early Tim had his hands full with Bob Timm of Winona and Richie Gustin of Gillman Iowa. The ran several laps taking turns running two and three wide. Donlinger finally took control of the spot and than on lap nine Timm had his night come to a quick halt when he hit the wall in turn four. Donlinger took advantage of the restart and on lap ten slipped past York for the lead and checked out on the field for his second feature win of the season. York held on to take second ahead of a hard charging Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie. Gustin took fourth ahead of Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie who worked his way all the way to the top five from a sixth row starting spot. The nights other heat wins went to Al Mondus of Lakeville, Noble, and Myer.

With the 2007 season now officially in the books Chateau Raceway is now focused on an even bigger and better 2008 season which will kick off in the spring with its annual Chateau Raceway Car Show. That will be followed by the start of another exciting year of "Thunder in the Dirt" as soon as the spring weather allows. The track has scheduled an awards banquet which will be held in November. Ticket information and more will be made available at the tracks website The track concluds its season thanking all the drivers, fans and sponsors who came out and supported the track over the course of the year because without them they would just be out there playing in the dirt.
Friday Results
Noble RV USRA Modified

Feature - Tim Donlinger-Rochester, Ryan York-Racine, Tommy Myer-Blooming Prairie, Richie Gustin-Gillman IA, Mark Noble-Blooming Prairie, Ryan Gustin-Marshalltown IA, Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie, Mike Steensma-LuVerne, Jacob Dahle-Morristown, Terry Timmerman-Stewartville, Adam Heuer-Fall Creek, Kenny Wytaske-Lansing, Dennis Hillson-Blooming Prairie, Dave Wytaske Jr-Mapleview, Ben Rippentrop-Hayfield, Mike Sorensen-Rochester, Bob Timm-Winona, Jimmy Gustin-Marshalltown IA, Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, Alan Mondus-Lakeville.

Consy - Ri Gustin, Heuer, Rippentrop, Jensen, Todd Stinehart-Waseca, Chad Ragan-Eagle Lake, Dustin Reeh-Rochester, Mike Rumsey-Browndale, Bob Fisher-Lyle, Leroy Scharkey-Rochester, (no show; Jason Cummins-New Richland).

Heat 1 - Donlinger, De Hillson, K Wytaske, Fisher, D Wytaske Jr, Reeh, Rumsey.

Heat 2 - Mondus, Timm, J Gustin, Timmerman, Scharkey, Heuer, Cummins.

Heat 3 - Noble, Do Hillson, Ry Gustin, Steensma. Ri Gustin, Stinehart, Jensen.

Heat 4 - Myer, York, Sorensen, Dahle, Rippentrop, Ragan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group