Ragland nips Hudson to score season-opening win at Midway Speedway
Print this page
March 28, 2008

Jamie Ragland celebrates in victory lane. (Ron Mitchell Photo)

LEBANON, Mo. - Despite cold temperatures the fans were treated to plenty of hot racing action with 75 cars checked into the pits as the Lebanon Midway Speedway opened its 2008 season and last-lap drama highlighting the racing action.

The USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series USRA Modified feature saw two friends and rivals dice it out for another exciting finish as 2005 Modified track champion Jamie Ragland and 2007 Modified track champ Eric Hudson treated the crowd to side-by-side racing.

The start of the feature saw 2007 Valley Speedway champion Jake Richards jump to the early lead with Hudson closely following. Hudson took control at the line after lap 1 with Ragland and Richards battling behind with Bobbye Williams moving quickly.

As Hudson tried to pull away, Ragland broke away from the battle with Richards and pulled on Hudson's back bumper. The dynamic duo ran side by side with Hudson using the top groove and Ragland moving on the bottom while Williams, Jason Meadors, Richards and Jimmy Willis were fighting for third place.

Moving on lap 18, Hudson and Ragland were going through traffic and Hudson moved to the bottom with Ragland grabbing the top groove.

Coming out of turn 2 on the last lap, Ragland made a bold move and slipped around on the outside to nip Hudson for the win.

Williams, Meadors and Richards rounded out the top-5.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, March 28, 2008

USRA Modifieds

Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 3. Bobbye Williams, Shawnee, Kan.; 4. Jason Meadors, Fordland; 5. Jake Richards, Kansas City, Kan.; 6. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 7. James Hartman, Eldridge; 8. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 9. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 10.Sam Petty, Niangua; 11.Ted Ballinger, Halfway.

1st Heat: 1. Ragland; 2. Richards; 3. Williams; 4. Hartman; 5. Petty; 6. Ballinger.

2nd Heat: 1. Meadors; 2. Hudson; 3. Willis; 4. Muilenburg; 5. Atkinson.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group