Jackson nips Merritt at Midway
Print this page
May 30, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Despite threating skies, 109 race teams checked into the pits Friday night at the Midway Speedway.

In USRA Modified action, 2006 champion Tony Jackson Jr. and Danny Atkinson brought the field down to the green with Jackson grabbing the early lead, but Rex Merritt took over the lead as the pack headed into turn 1.

Merrittt stayed glued to the bottom as Jackson went to the top groove as the duo ran side by side, with Merritt holding control as former champion and current points leader Jamie Ragland started his march to the front.

Merritt and Jackson gave each other plenty of racing room as Ragland gathered it up quickly and the lead trio brought the crowd to their feet as last week's winner, Eric Hudson, was marching forward from his 11th starting spot.

Heading for the white flag, Jackson made the wide sweeping pass while leader Merritt stayed glued to the bottom. The lead duo came dead even out of turn 4 while Jackson carried the speed out of the corner to nip Merritt at the line by a front bumper with Ragland, Hudson and early contender Steve Muilenburg following.

Action continues next Friday night with regular points racing in the USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Bombers, Super Stocks and 305 Winged Sprints with racing at 8 p.m. sharp.


USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, May 30, 2008


A Feature -  1. Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon; 2. Rex Merritt, Billings; 3. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 4. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 5. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 6. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 7. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 8. Ryan Stacye, Springfield; 9. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 10. Brian Brown, Lebanon; 11. Sam Petty, Niangua; 12. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove; DNS - Jamie Petty, Niangua.

1st Heat -  1. Hudson; 2. Willis; 3. Merritt; 4. Jackson; 5. Neuman; 6. S. Petty; 7. J. Petty.

2nd Heat -  1. Ragland; 2. Muilenburg; 3. Atkinson; 4. Stacye; 5. Brown; 6. Ballinger.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group