Ragland grabs USRA Modified feature at Midway
Print this page
June 14, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - While Mother Nature washed out the regular Friday night points show, Midway Speedway officials made the quick decision to run on Saturday night and it paid off well as 98 race teams were greeted with an excellent racing surface and many side-by-side battles all night long.

In the USRA Modified feature, 2005 champion and current points leader Jamie Ragland brought the field to the green with Don Luna to his outside.

Ragland grabbed the early lead with veteran Rex Merritt right on his bumper, followed by Luna, Scotty Allen and Central Missouri standout Eric Turner.

With Merritt applying pressure the whole time, Ragland stayed glued to the bottom as sixth-starting Turner was moving to the high groove and charging quickly.

On lap 4, Turner's strong run ended with a brake line coming loose and ending his night.

Out front, Ragland and Merritt were still wagging war as Allen, along with defending champion Eric Hudson, ran side by side for over 10 laps.

On lap 15, Hudson moved around Allen to take over third place and started to run down the lead duo.

Ragland and Merritt were showing the crowd how to race hard and clean as both drivers entered lapped traffic while Hudson was swinging on the top groove.

Heading for the white flag, Merritt tried a low groove move as Ragland shut the door and Hudson was coming quickly on the top groove.

As they crossed the finish line, Ragland withstood several attempts to capture his second win of the season, followed closely by Merritt, Hudson, Justin Neuman and Allen.

Racing action will resume on Friday night, June 20, with a regular points show for all six classes with racing starting at 8 p.m.


USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Saturday, June 14, 2008


Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Rex Merritt, Billings; 3. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 4. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 5. Scotty Allen, Urbana; 6. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 7. Don Luna, St. James; 8. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 9. Chris Tonoli, Cross Timbers; 10. Colt Cheevers, Macks Creek; 11. David Hendrix, Buckhorn; 12. Brian Brown, Lebanon; 13. Sam Petty, Niangua; 14. Jamey Petty, Niangua; 15. Brian Dorrell, Sunrise Beach; 16. Eric Turner, Hermitage; DNS - Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon.

1st Heat: 1. Hudson; 2. Merritt; 3. Ragland; 4. Atkinson; 5. Brown; 6. Hendrix; 7. Dorrell; 8. J. Petty; 9. S. Petty.

2nd Heat: 1. Turner; 2. Allen; 3. Luna; 4. Neuman; 5. Willis; 6. Cheevers; 7. Tonoli; DNS - Jackson.

Latest News from the USRA

February 16, 2018
Midway Speedway announces $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event
Jack Jones and the staff at the Lebanon Midway Speedway have announced a $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event to be held Friday night, June 15. This will be a regularread more
February 15, 2018
Springfield Raceway set for March 10 opener
The Springfield Raceway will kick off the dirt track season in Southwest Missouri on Saturday, March 10, with the annual March Madness event. USRA Modifieds and Out-Paread more
February 8, 2018
Opening weekend at I-35 Speedway fast approaching
This weekend is World of Wheels in Kansas City’s Bartle Hall and tthe Central Auto Racing Boosters will be distributing the I-35 Speedway schedules for your refrigeread more
February 8, 2018
Lucas Oil Speedway Weekly Racing Series mid-season points leaders to receive bonus
Drivers in Lucas Oil Speedway's Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series again will be chasing extra money at the season's midpoint. For the second straight year,read more
February 8, 2018
Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks & Springs backing USRA racers again in 2018
Keyser Manufacturing—the leader in innovative and cutting edge products for the racing industry—is back on board as a contingency sponsor of the United Statesread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group