Hudson holds off Merritt, grabs Midway Modified main
Print this page
June 27, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Action was fast and furious Friday night at the Lebanon Midway Speedway with 88 race teams in the pits along with an outstanding motocross stunt driving show by Team Faith riders Tim Wilson and Terry Russell.

The USRA Modified feature had current Midway points leader Eric Hudson bring the field down to the green and jumping to the early lead with Danny Atkinson and Jimmy Willis close behind, along with Greg Hughes.

Atkinson pulled off quickly with problems as Willis began his charge to the lead.

On lap 3, Willis spun and brought out the yellow falg with Hudson still out in front followed by Hughes and Rex Merritt.

On the restart, Hudson again pulled away but Merritt stayed close behind with Hughes applying pressure.

Hudson and Merritt battled back and forth as 11th-starting Justin Neuman and 12th-starting Jamie Ragland began their charges to the front of the pack.

With Hudson setting a quick pace, Merritt was glued on his back bumper on the low side while Neuman was moving both high and low along with Ragland as Greg Hughes stayed a solid third.

Merritt tried several attempts to pass Hudson in turn 2 but Hudson would get the better bite off of turn 2 and held off the challanges to grab his third win of the season.

Merritt, Hughes, Ragland and Neuman completed the top-5

Up next Friday night, July 4, the Midway Speedway will present a regular points show along with a special fireworks show to celebrate the Independence Holiday Weekend as racing will start at 8 p.m. sharp.


USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, June 27, 2008


Feature: 1. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 2. Rex Merritt, Billings; 3. Greg Hughes, West Plains; 4. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 5. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 6. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 7. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 8. Josh Hughes, West Plains; 9. Sam Petty, Niangua; 10. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 11. Brian Brown, Lebanon; 12. Jason Hughes, West Plains; 13. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 14. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon.

1st Heat: 1. Willis; 2. Hudson; 3. Jason Hughes; 4. Merritt; 5. Brown; 6. Muilenburg; 7. Josh Hughes.

2nd Heat: 1. G. Hughes; 2. Atkinson; 3. Neuman; 4. Kirk; 5. Ragland; 6. S. Petty; 7. J. Petty.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group