Midway fireworks action provides new winners
Print this page
July 4, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - With over 100 cars in the pits and a capacity crowd to witness fireworks and racing action, five new drivers grabbed their first Midway Speedway wins of 2008.

The USRA Modifieds brought 23 superfast cars to the action track as Greg Hughes brought the field to the green with Jimmy Willis along side of him.

Hughes grabbed the early lead with Willis, Jamie Ragland, Tony Jackson Jr. and Johnny Bone Jr. following and swapping position.

On lap 8, Bone made the low groove stick to take control while Hughes, Jackson, Willis, Ragland, Josh Hughes, Rex Merritt and Eric Hudson were battling three-wide.

On lap 13, the caution waved while Ragland headed for the pits. On the restart, Bone and Greg Hughes went to battle again as Jackson, Merritt and points leader Eric Hudson, who started 11th, battled for third place.

A lap 18 caution involving Merritt, Hudson and Jimmy Willis bunched the field again as Bone again pulled away on the restart as Justin Neuman and Jason Pursley were coming quickly along with Brad McKinnon.

In the closing laps, Bone pulled away to capture his first ever Midway Speedway feature win with Jackson grabbing the runner-up spot, followed by early leader Greg Hughes, Pursley and McKinnon completing the top-5 while 16 of the 23 starters were on the lead lap.


USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, July 4, 2008


Feature: 1. Johhny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge, Ark.; 2. Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon; 3. Greg Hughes, West Plains; 4. Jason Pursley, Wheatland; 5. Brad McKinnon, Sedalia; 6. Jason Hughes, West Plains; 7. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 8. Josh Hughes, West Plains; 9. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 10. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 11. Larry Tindle, Springfield; 12. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 13. Craig Wood, El Dorado Springs; 14. Donnie Gennings, Eldridge; 15. Rex Merritt, Billings; 16. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 17. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 18. Ted VanZandt, Billings; 19. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 20. Sam Petty, Niangua; 21. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 22. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 23. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove.

1st Heat: 1. Jason Hughes; 2. Ragland; 3. Greg Hughes; 4. Atkinson; 5. Josh Hughes; 6. Tindle; 7. Kirk; 8. Muilenburg.

2nd Heat: 1. Merritt; 2. Jackson; 3. Willis; 4. Pursley; 5. Mitchell; 6. Wood; 7. Hudson; 8. Ballinger.

3rd Heat: 1. Bone; 2. Gennings; 3. McKinnon; 4. Neuman; 5. S. Petty; 6. J. Petty; 7. VanZandt.

Latest News from the USRA

February 16, 2018
Midway Speedway announces $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event
Jack Jones and the staff at the Lebanon Midway Speedway have announced a $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event to be held Friday night, June 15. This will be a regularread more
February 15, 2018
Springfield Raceway set for March 10 opener
The Springfield Raceway will kick off the dirt track season in Southwest Missouri on Saturday, March 10, with the annual March Madness event. USRA Modifieds and Out-Paread more
February 8, 2018
Opening weekend at I-35 Speedway fast approaching
This weekend is World of Wheels in Kansas City’s Bartle Hall and tthe Central Auto Racing Boosters will be distributing the I-35 Speedway schedules for your refrigeread more
February 8, 2018
Lucas Oil Speedway Weekly Racing Series mid-season points leaders to receive bonus
Drivers in Lucas Oil Speedway's Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series again will be chasing extra money at the season's midpoint. For the second straight year,read more
February 8, 2018
Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks & Springs backing USRA racers again in 2018
Keyser Manufacturing—the leader in innovative and cutting edge products for the racing industry—is back on board as a contingency sponsor of the United Statesread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group