Merritt finally nails one at Midway Speedway
Print this page
July 11, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - The Midway Speedway provided plenty of excitement and action as the Action Track of The Ozarks hosted the 2nd Annual Larry Phillips Birthday Bash with over 135 race teams in the pits.

In support action, the USRA Modifieds provided another tight night of racing as Rex Merritt brought field to the start with Eric Turner providing plenty of competition along with Jimmy Willis.

Merritt kept it glued to the bottom as Turner went upstairs and Willis was using the middle groove.

With Merritt looking for his first ever Midway win, Turner was providing plent of competition as Jamie Ragland and Justin Neuman were coming through the field also by using the top groove.

In the later stages of the feature, Neuman was making the most gains but looped it on the final lap in turn 2 as Merritt held off repeated challanges from Turner in grabbing the win.

Ragland, Willis and Josh Hughes completed the top-5.

Up next Friday night is double points night for the Factory Stocks, Bombers, B-Mods, 305 Winged Sprints and Super Stocks, while the USRA Modifieds will compete in a regular points show.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 8.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Caseys General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, July 11, 2008


A Feature: 1. Rex Merritt, Billings; 2. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 3. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 4. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 5. Josh Hughes, West Plains; 6. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 7. Evan Hubert, Cross Timbers; 8. Scott Crigler, Houston; 9. Don Luna, St. James; 10. Donnie Gennings, Eldrige; 11. Chris Tonoli, Cross Timbers; 12. Rustin Miller, Houston; 13. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 14. Sam Petty, Niangua; 15. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 16. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 17. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove; 18. Lonnie Evans, Houston; 19. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 20. Greg Hughes, West Plains.

1st Heat: 1. Neuman; 2. Hubert; 3. J. Jones; 4. S. Petty; 5. Tonoli; 6. Evans; 7. Miller.

2nd Heat: 1. Ragland; 2. Merritt; 3. G. Hughes; 4. J. Hughes; 5. Atkinson; 6. J. Petty; 7. Crigler.

3rd Heat: 1. Willis; 2. Turner; 3. Muilenburg; 4. Luna; 5. Gennings; 6. Ballinger.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group