Shark attacks Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 18, 2008  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - Chateau Raceway powered by Miners Outdoor Power & Recreation of Blooming Prairie rolled out its ninth night of action of the 2008 season Friday. Despite the hot muggy weather, a good field of 91 cars showed up to put on full night of exciting action.

A nice group of French's Repair & Fabrication USRA Modifieds put on three exciting and fast-paced heats with Jacob Dahle of Morristown, Tom Paulson of Kasson and Tim Donlinger of Rochester taking home those heat wins. However, mechanical problems cut the field down to just 14 cars able to pull out for the feature event.

Todd Scharkey of Kasson started second row inside and wasted no time finding the inside line on the first lap as he shot to the lead out of turn 2. Donlinger, who stated outside row 2, dove down through the middle to move to second on lap 2.

Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie worked from row 3 to third just about as fast and some wild side-by-side racing unfolded over the next few laps. Myer's race was short-lived however as he had a spring pop out on the track and his suspension was a bit twisted as he headed to the pits early.

Mike Sorensen of Rochester took his spot to keep things interesting up front.

Donlinger was able to get a run inside of Scharkey a few times during the middle stages of the race but as the race wound down Scharkey was able to stretch out a comfortable lead and cruise to his first feature win of the year at Chateau.

Sorensen settled into third ahead of Brad Bakken of Garner, Iowa.

Next week fans will want to get the kids out to the track early. The track's kid-friendly promotion for the week will be rides in stock cars for the kids starting somewhere around 7 p.m. Racing action will get under way at 7:30 with another full night of action on the schedule.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 18, 2008


Feature: 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Tim Donlinger, Rochester; 3. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 4. Brad Bakken, Garner, Iowa; 4. Josh Mattick, Austin; 5. Tom Paulson, Kasson; 6. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 7. Wally Bustad, Austin; 8. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 9. Bob Fisher, Lyle; 10. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 11. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 12. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 13. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; DNS - Matt Madsen, Blooming Prairie; Kenny Wytaske, Lansing; Tyler Clark, Rochester.

Heat #1: 1. Dahle; 2. Bakken; 3. Scharkey; 4. Hillson; 5. Jensen; DNS - K. Wytaske.

Heat #2: 1. Paulson; 2. D. Wytaske; 3. Mattick; 4. Bustad; 5. Madsen; 6. Clark.

Heat #3: 1. Donlinger; 2. Myer; 3. Sorensen; 4. Wernecke; 5. Fisher.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group