Willis grabs career-first USRA Modified main at Midway Speedway
Print this page
July 18, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - With over 80 race teams on double points night, the action was again fast and furious at the Midway Speedway in Lebanon, Mo., as the new and first-time winners just keep rolling on in 2008.

The USRA Modified feature provided three- and sometimes four-wide racing action as Lebanon's Danny Atkinson jumped to the opening lead from his outside front row starting spot while third-place starter and current points leader Jimmy Willis shot around polesitter Donnie Gennings to grab second place.

With Atkinson setting a fast pace, Willis stayed glued to the bottom groove while Eric Hudson, Jamie Ragland, Craig Wood and Gennings were battling for positions.

Willis went to the inside of Atkinson several times, but Atkinson's speed was carrying on the top groove as it was three-wide beind the leader.

On lap 14, Willis grabbed the top spot, but Atkinson took back the lead on lap 16 as former track champion Ragland looped it in turn 1 while running in the top-5.

On the restart, Atkinson shot back to the top groove while veteran Steve Muilenburg had charged to run right behind the leader Willis and put himself into the mix of contenders.

On lap 18 the caution waved for a stalled car as Willis was looking for his first ever feature win with Atkinson, Muilenburg, Hudson, Justin Neuman and Wood all fighting for spots.

On the restart, Willis kept it glued to the bottom as Atkinson swung up high to challange but Willis wasn't to be denied as he pulled ahead to take his first ever feature win with Atkinson, Muilenburg, a rim-riding Neuman and Hudson your top-5.

Up next will be a regular points show for all six classes plus a special paying money race for the Factory Stocks as $500 will go to the winner.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Caseys General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, July 18, 2008


Feature: 1. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 2. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 3. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 4. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 5. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 6. Craig Wood, El Dorado Springs; 7. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 8. Donnie Gennings, Eldridge; 9. Sam Petty, Niangua; 10. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 11. Dean Hensler, Springfield; 12. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 13. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 14. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove; 15. Steve Cushings, Lebanon.

1st Heat: 1. Muilenburg; 2. Neuman; 3. Willis; 4. Gennings; 5. Kirk; 6. Jones; 7. Ballinger; 8. Cushings.

2nd Heat: 1. Ragland; 2. Hudson; 3. Wood; 4. Atkinson; 5. S. Petty; 6. Hensler; 7. J. Petty.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group