Bakken solid in first win at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 25, 2008  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - It was the final race of July on Friday night at Chateau Raceway powered by Miners Outdoor Power & Rec. That leaves just four points races left on the 2008 schedule before the fall specials get underway. Points races in all classes will take center stage as those final four weeks get underway next Friday night, Aug. 1. Entering this weekend, all classes are saw very tight races heading down the stretch.

In French's Repair & Fabrication USRA Modified action, Brad Bakken, who has been consistent all year, drove one of the finest races of the year to pick up his first feature win of the year.

Bakken started on the inside of row 2 and moved to the front immediately. Coming out of row 3, Mike Sorensen worked to second on lap 3 and the race was on.

Sorensen pulled up on Bakken and the two were side by side just before the midpoint of the race. Bakken shook him off and opened up a two-car-length lead only to have the two come up on the tail end of the field and as they worked lapped traffic.

Sorensen took a few more looks at getting alongside Bakken for the lead, but the driver from Garner, Iowa, met every challenge. As the race went caution-free, he posted an impressive win with a great display of driving.

The heat winners on the night were Todd Scharkey of Kasson and Jacob Dahle of Morristown.

Bakken's win moved him to within 26 markers of Sorensen in the points standings.

The race for the championship continues next Friday night with racing action getting underway at 7:30 p.m. Next week's kids promotion is listed as a Frisbee Night after kids were treated to car rides this week before the racing program began.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 25, 2008


Feature: 1. Brad Bakken, Garner, Iowa; 2. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 3. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 4. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 5. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 6. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 7. Tyler Clark, Rochester; 8. Josh Mattick, Austin; 9. Wally Bustad, Austin; 10. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 11. Kenny Wytaske, Lansing; 12. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 13. Matt Madsen, Blooming Prairie; 14. Jordan Stier, Rochester; 15. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 16. Gary Schmidt, Rochester.

Heat #1: Scharkey, Bakken, Bustad, D. Wytaske, Stier, Misgen, Jensen, K. Wytaske.

Heat #2: Dahle, Sorensen, Myer, Clark, Mattick, Madsen, Schmidt; DQ - Hillson (did not scale).

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
April 20, 2018
Scott, Egbert, Gillmore grab opening night checkers at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Opening night of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout was a windy and cold one, but the racing made it all worth it. Ninety-five cars and drivers accumulated within thread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group