Ragland sneaks by in USRA Modified main at Midway
Print this page
July 25, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Despite a late afternoon rain shower over 90 race teams checked into the pits for another night of close racing at the Midway Speedway in Lebanon, Mo.

The USRA Modified feature looked like a full moon event with a wild outcome and finish.

The start of the feature had Justin Neuman and Tony Jackson Jr. bringing the field to the green with a side-by-side battle early until lap 3 when Jackson was able to pull away while defending champion Eric Hudson made the move to the top groove to grab second while Neuman, Craig Wood and Jamie Ragland were fighting for position as Rex Merritt was charging hard from his 12th starting spot.

Up front, Jackson was sailing on the top side as Hudson, Neuman and Ragland were giving chase.

The action really heated up on lap 18 as Jackson went through traffic and got crossed-up as Neuman, Wood and a fast-moving Merritt all got collected, ending their night as Hudson was able to squeeze by, but caught the outer wall which resulted in damage to his right rear.

On the restart, leader Hudson swung wide as Ragland shot to the inside groove while Wayne Graybeal, Donnie Gennings, last week's winner Jimmy Willis and Danny Atkinson were charging.

In turn 2, Hudson spun, collecting Gennings and Graybeal on the final lap as Ragland went on to grab the win with Willis, Atkinson, Jack Jones and Ted VanZandt completing the top-5.

Up next on Friday, Aug. 1, a regular points show including the Missouri Dirt Legends Cars, along with action in the Factory Stocks, Bombers, Super Stocks, USRA Modifieds, Sprints and B-Mods.

On Friday, Aug. 8, the O'Reilly USMTS Modifieds will be in action at the Midway with the midwest's top touring Modified drivers making their first ever visit to the track against the locals as drivers from seven to eight different states will be on hand as the USMTS warriors begin the Casey's General Stores Hunt for the USMTS National Championship.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, July 25, 2008


Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 3. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 4. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 5. Ted VanZandt, Billings; 6. Sam Petty, Niangua; 7. Donnie Gennings, Eldridge; 8. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 9. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 10. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 11. Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon; 12. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 13. Rex Merritt, Billings; 14. Craig Wood, El Dorado Springs; 15. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove.

Heat #1: 1. Neuman; 2. Wood; 3. Willis; 4. Gennings; 5. Atkinson; 6. Graybeal; 7. S. Petty; 8. J. Petty.

Heat #2: 1. Jackson; 2. Hudson; 3. Ragland; 4. Jones; 5. VanZandt; 6. Merritt; 7. Ballinger.

Latest News from the USRA

February 16, 2018
Midway Speedway announces $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event
Jack Jones and the staff at the Lebanon Midway Speedway have announced a $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event to be held Friday night, June 15. This will be a regularread more
February 15, 2018
Springfield Raceway set for March 10 opener
The Springfield Raceway will kick off the dirt track season in Southwest Missouri on Saturday, March 10, with the annual March Madness event. USRA Modifieds and Out-Paread more
February 8, 2018
Opening weekend at I-35 Speedway fast approaching
This weekend is World of Wheels in Kansas City’s Bartle Hall and tthe Central Auto Racing Boosters will be distributing the I-35 Speedway schedules for your refrigeread more
February 8, 2018
Lucas Oil Speedway Weekly Racing Series mid-season points leaders to receive bonus
Drivers in Lucas Oil Speedway's Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series again will be chasing extra money at the season's midpoint. For the second straight year,read more
February 8, 2018
Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks & Springs backing USRA racers again in 2018
Keyser Manufacturing—the leader in innovative and cutting edge products for the racing industry—is back on board as a contingency sponsor of the United Statesread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group