Willis takes USRA Modified feature at Midway Speedway
Print this page
August 1, 2008

LEBANON, Mo. - They say after you capture your first win the rest come easy.

Current USRA Modified points leader Jimmy Willis is proving that statement to be true as he took the lead on lap 2 and held off repeated challanges from Justin Neuman and Eric Hudson to take his second feature win of the 2008 racing season Friday night at the Midway Speedway with over 90 race teams checked into the pits for an action packed night of racing.

The USRA Modified feature had Don Luna grab the opening lead from his pole spot as Willis shot to the low side on lap 2 to take the lead, with defending champion Hudson close behind and Neuman following.

Hudson tried several times to move around Willis, but Willis was too strong.

On lap 15, Neuman moved his car around Hudson and started to close in on the leader, but Willis proved to be too much tonight as he withstood the late surge from Neuman while behind the lead trio a tight battle between Wayne Graybeal, Jamie Ragland, Tony Jackson Jr. and Steve Muilenburg developed as those drivers swapped back and forth for posistion.

With the checkered flying, it was Willis followed by Neuman, Hudson, Graybeal and Jackson rounding out the top-5 in a caution-free feature.

Up next at the Midway Speedway on Friday night, Aug. 8, will be a special event as the USMTS Touring Modifieds make there first-ever apperance at the track as Modifieds drivers from six or more states are expected. This will be the first race in the USMTS Championship chase (called The Hunt) as drivers such as eight-time national champion Kelly Shyrock of Iowa, defending national champion Jason Krohn of Minnesota, Jason Hughes of Oklahoma, Johnny Bone Jr. of Arkansas and many others will battle the local area drivers such as Willis, Ragland, Hudson, Jackson and many more expected entries, along with points battles in the Factory Stocks, Super Stocks and Bombers.


USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, Aug. 1, 2008


Feature: 1. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 2. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 3. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 4. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 5. Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon; 6. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 7. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 8. Don Luna, St. James; 9. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 10. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 11. Donnie Gennings, Eldridge; 12. Sam Petty, Niangua; 13. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 14. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 15. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove.

Heat #1: 1. T. Jackson; 2. Willis; 3. Luna; 4. Graybeal; 5. Jones; 6. Atkinson; 7. Ragland; 8. Ballinger.

Heat #2: 1. K. Jackson; 2. Neuman; 3. Hudson; 4. Muilenburg; 5. Gennings; 6. S. Petty; 7. J. Petty.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group