Ragland begins title push with USRA Modified victory at Midway
Print this page
August 15, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Lebanon's Jamie Ragland and the Midway Speedway have been a well fit match for each other.

In 2005 Ragland gathered his first ever championship and in 2007 he ended up tied with Eric Hudson for the championship.

On Friday night, Ragland battled early with race leader Justin Neuman and took control on lap 11 to capture his fourth USRA Modified feature event of the season.

Ninety race teams checked into the pits on Amsoil Night at the Races.

The USRA Modified feature saw 16 strong take the green as Justin Neuman was setting the quick pace early while Steve Martin and David Hendrix battled side by side.

On lap 3, Martin shot to the inside and applied pressure to Neuman while Hendrix, Kris Jackson and Ragland were battling hard.

A close call on lap 7 as Martin was going into the pits and slowed. Ragland, who was battling for position, almost crashed into Martin as he scraped his right side against Martin's car.

The yellow flag waved for debris with Neuman still in charge and Hendrix applying the pressure.

On lap 9, Ragland made the move into second place and moved to the top side of the track trying to catch Neuman.

With two- and three-wide racing back in the pack for several positions involving Jim Roach, Wayne Graybeal, Larry Tindle, Hudson and others, fans were seeing great action.

On lap 11, Ragland shot to the outside of Neuman to take control as points leader Jimmy Willis was struggling tonight after he clipped the wall in his qualifying heat.

Up front Ragland wasn't to be touched in grabbing his fourth win of the season while Neuman, Hendrix, Jackson and Hudson completed the top-5.

Up next Friday night is a regular points show featuring the USRA Modifieds, Super Stocks, 305 Winged Sprints, B-Mods and Bombers with racing starting at 8 p.m. sharp.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, Aug. 15, 2008


Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 3. David Hendrix, Laquey; 4. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 5. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 6. Jim Roach, St. Patrick; 7. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 8. Larry Tindle, Springfield; 9. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 10. Steve Martin, Ozark; 11. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 12. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 13. Sam Petty, Niangua; 14. Lonnie Evans, Houston; 15. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 16. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon.

Heat #1: 1. Neuman; 2. Martin; 3. Jackson; 4. Tindle; 5. Jones; 6. J. Petty; 7. S. Petty; DNS - Atkinson.

Heat #2: 1. Hendrix; 2. Ragland; 3. Roach; 4. Graybeal; 5. Hudson; 6. Muilenburg; 7. Evans; 8. Willis.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group