Folk tops big field of USRA Modifieds at Caney Valley Speedway
Print this page
August 16, 2008

CANEY, Kan. - The fans got their money's worth Saturday night at the Caney Valley Speedway during the second night of racing at the newly-refurbished facility in Southern Kansas.

In the USRA Modified feature, Justin "Whitey" Folk and Johnny Bone Jr. battled through lapped traffic. After a lap 18 caution, Folk was able to hold on to the lead and take the win, his 15th of the season and first at CVS.

Greg Skaggs had to pit on lap 1 and restart 22nd, but worked his way back up to fourth at the finish.

Racing resumes next Saturday, Aug. 23, with action in five classes. Headlining the program will be USRA-sanctioned Modifieds as they will be battling for track and national points in the USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series. Also on the racing card will be Street Stocks, Factory Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks.

Modifieds will pay $700 to win and $100 to start the main event. Street Stocks will pay $325 to win and $30 to start, Factory Stocks and B-Mods will race for a $225 top prize and $25 to start and Pure Stocks will pay $125 to win and $20 to start. Purses in each class are based on a minimum of 12 cars.

Pit and grandstands gates will open at 5 p.m. for the grand opening, with hot laps slated for 7:30 and racing action to kick off at 8 p.m. Adult ticket prices are just $8, seniors are $5, kids ages 6-12 are $4 and children under 6 are admitted free of charge. Pit passes will be $25.

The Caney Valley Speedway is located 0.8 mile west of the junction of US 75 and US 166 on CR 1600. For more information, call (620) 330-0485 or check out online.

For more information regarding the United States Racing Association call (515) 832-6000 or visit the USRA online at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Caney Valley Speedway, Caney, Kan.
Saturday, Aug. 16, 2008


1. 6 Justin "Whitey" Folk
2. 12 Johnny Bone Jr.
3. 1x Colby Artherton
4. 27 Greg Skaggs
5. 7jr Jess Folk Jr.
6. 39 Gary Langworthy Jr.
7. 12v Chris Vannoster
8. 73 Bill McMurtrie Jr.
9. 11m Brandon Morton
10. 10 Jerry Reeves
11. 1c Chris Deaton
12. 9 Joe Gorby
13. 15w Stevie Wright
14. 48s Travis Smith
15. 11r Billy Ross
16. 99 Gerald Folk
17. 07 Danny Ratcliff
18. B2 Chance Bishop
19. 10j Lynn Jones
20. 101 Darren Gordon
21. 11j Casey Jesseph
22. 48p Jim Pearcy
DNS - 155 Jessie Fox
DNS - 17h Brent Holman
DNS - 25 Darren Raye
DNS - 94 Jamie Etter

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group