Ragland goes back to back in Midway USRA Mods
Print this page
August 22, 2008  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - With 90 race teams in the pits, action again was fast and furious on the Action Track of the Ozarks as the chase for the championship got even closer in the USRA Modifieds as former Midway Speedway track champion Jamie Ragland captured his second straight feature win.

The field of 21 ground-pounding USRA Modifieds took the green with Kris Jackson grabbing the early lead with veteran Terry Kirk jumping to the top groove and Tony Jackson Jr. diving to the low side.

Kris Jackson, who was trying to make Midway history by becoming the first driver to win features in three different classes, was setting a fast pace.

The first yellow flew as Tim Ballinger looped it in turn 4 on lap 5. On the restart, Kris Jackson was quick as Tony Jackson Jr. found defending Midway champion Eric Hudson glued to his bumper as they raced hard for position, while last week's winner Jamie Ragland had moved into fifth and was charging while battling Steve Martin with action all over the race track.

On lap 12 the yellow waved for Jamie Petty as Kris Jackson ducked into the pits with a flat tire. It was determined that Tony Jackson Jr. had helped cause the yellow and was sent to the rear of the field, giving Hudson the lead with Terry Kirk, Ragland, Martin and Jason Meadors the top 5.

On the restart, Hudson grabbed the low groove with Ragland and Kirk battling.

On lap 14, Ragland made the winning pass over Hudson to take back to back victories and put himself back into the points chase as Hudson, Kirk, Martin and Meadors completed the top 5.

Racing action will resume on Friday, Sept. 5, at the Midway Speedway with a regular points show featuring the USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Super Stocks, B-Mods and a special feature paying $500 to win for the Bombers.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, Aug. 22, 2008


Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 3. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 4. Steve Martin, Ozark; 5. Jason Meadors, Fordland; 6. David Hendrix, Laquey; 7. Jimmy Willis, Macks Creek; 8. Larry Tindle, Springfield; 9. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 10. Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon; 11. James Hartman, Eldridge; 12. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 13. Don Luna, St. James; 14. Donnie Gennings, Eldridge; 15. Jack Jones, Lebanon; 16. Chad Staus, Otterville; 17. Sam Petty, Niangua; 18. Jamie Petty, Niangua; 19. Tim Ballinger, Fair Grove; 20. Danny Atkinson, Lebanon; 21. Justin Neuman, Crocker.

Heat #1: 1. K. Jackson; 2. Meadors; 3. Hartman; 4. Ragland; 5. Ballinger; 6. Willis; 7. Hendrix.

Heat #2: 1. Kirk; 2. Martin; 3. Tindle; 4. Gennings; 5. Graybeal; 6. Luna; 7. J. Petty.

Heat #3: 1. T. Jackson; 2. Hudson; 3. Neuman; 4. Atkinson; 5. S. Petty; 6. Staus; 7. Jones.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group