Cresco Speedway announces 2009 schedule
Print this page
January 12, 2009

CRESCO, Iowa -- Officials from RL Promotions and the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, have announced a tentative schedule of events for the 2009 racing season at the Howard County Fairgrounds 4/10-mile high-banked clay oval.

An exciting season of racing under the United States Racing Association banner will kick off on May 17 with the season opener for the USRA Weekly Racing Series featuring USRA Modifieds racing for $1,000 to win, plus USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Cars, USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods and USRA Hobby Stocks.

Four days later on Thursday, May 21, the super-fast Modifieds of the USMTS National Tour will be in town for the first of two shows this year in Cresco. Kelly Shryock, Jason Hughes, Mark Noble, Zack VanderBeek and the rest of the rugged road warriors will be back again on Tuesday, Aug. 4, for the third annual NASCAR Night.

On Tuesday, June 16, the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models hits the track with some of the region's top Late Model pilots expected to be on hand.

The annual Howard County Fair race will take place on Sunday, June 28, along with the USRA Weekly Racing Series (no Modifieds) plus Hornets.

Fireworks will fill the air on Thursday, July 2, with all four classes in action and a special for the USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods with a $1,500 top prize on the line.

Two weeks later on Thursday, July 16, it's the Great American Stock Car Challenge with $2,000 awaiting the winner of the USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Car main event.

The curtain will close on the 2009 season on Tuesday, Sept. 1, with the USRA Weekly Racing Series on tap and a special $1,000-to-win USRA Hobby Stock feature to cap off the night.

Defending track champions at the Cresco Speedway are Darrin Walch of Postville (USRA Modifieds), Tom Schmitt of Independence (USRA Karl Chevrolet Srock Cars), Jimmy Broszeit of Postville (USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods) and Brandon Hare of Elma (USRA Hobby Stocks).

For more information, contact the RL Promotions offices at (515) 832-6000 or visit www.rlpromotions.com online. Race day info is available by calling the track hotline at (563) 547-3400. The Cresco Speedway is located 0.2 miles north of SR 9 on SW 7th (at the Howard County Fairgrounds).

CRESCO SPEEDWAY
2009 SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Sun May 17 Season Opener - USRA Weekly Racing Series ($1,000 to win Modifieds)
Thu May 21 USMTS National Tour plus USRA Weekly Racing Series
Sun May 31 USRA Weekly Racing Series
Sun Jun 7 USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tue Jun 16 Deery Brothers IMCA Late Model Summer Series plus USRA Weekly Racing Series (no Modifieds)
Sun Jun 28 Howard County Fair Special - USRA Weekly Racing Series plus Hornets
Thu Jul 2 Firecracker Special - USRA Weekly Racing Series plus Fireworks ($1,500 to win B-Mods)
Sun Jul 12 USRA Weekly Racing Series
Thu Jul 16 Great American Stock Car Challenge plus USRA Weekly Racing Series ($2,000 to win Stock Cars)
Sun Jul 26 USRA Weekly Racing Series - Modified Special
Tue Aug 4 NASCAR Night - USMTS National Tour plus USRA Weekly Racing Series
Sun Aug 23 USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tue Sep 1 Season Finale - USRA Weekly Racing Series - Hobby Stock Special ($1,000 to win)

Schedule is tentative and subject to change without notice. Unless otherwise noted, the USRA Weekly Racing Series features USRA Modifieds, USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Cars, USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods and USRA Hobby Stocks.



Contact Us
Connect

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group