Sophomore season looking good at Caney Valley Speedway
Print this page
February 3, 2009

CANEY, Kan. -- After a half-season in 2008, the Caney Valley Speedway looks to make an even bigger splash in 2009.

Late last season, the 1/3-mile semi-banked clay oval opened up under the leadership of Kerry Gorby. Knowing that some racers in the area had been shortened by other tracks closing, he opened an existing facility, put on some great races and rewarded the racers for their support.

Coming in with a racers background, Gorby knew what needed to be done. He wanted to treat the racers and the fans the same way he would want to be treated.

It worked.

In 2009, Gorby and his crew will have more work to do as they embark on a full season. Look for the same things that made them successful last season with a few new twists.

USRA Modifieds plus Turf Cars, Pure Stocks, B-Mods, Factory Stocks and Street Stocks will be the core classes at Caney in 2009. A series of specials also highlight the docket, including the Modifieds of the USMTS National Tour, Midwest Dirt Late Models, SMRS Midgets and the NCRA Southern Sport Mods.

Even though it was a short season last year, Gorby had many specials incentive races. This season is no different as he has several special paying races throughout the year.

For more information log on to their website at www.caneyvalleyspeedway.net.

2009 CANEY VALLEY SPEEDWAY SCHEDULE

Sun Mar 8 - Playday, 1:00-5:00.
Fri Mar 13 - USMTS Modifieds featuring NASCAR's Kenny Wallace, plus B-Mods and Factory Stocks; Fan-A-Seat Two-Seater Late Model raffle at intermission.
Sun Mar 22 - Playday, 1:00-5:00
Sun Mar 29 - Playday, 1:00-5:00
Sat Apr 4 - Race Car Show, 12:00-4:00 at Short Creek/Sonic parking lot in Caney; USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models; Fan-A-Seat Two-Seater Late Model raffle at intermission.
Sat Apr 11 - USRA Modifieds ($1,000 to win), Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sat Apr 18 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Turf Cars.
Sat Apr 25 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat May 2 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks ($500 to win), B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sat May 9 - USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat May 16 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks.
Sat May 23 - Caney Valley Speedway B-Mods vs. NCRA Southern Sport Mods; USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sun May 24 - USRA Modifieds, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat May 30 - No races.
Sat Jun 6 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Jun 13 - USRA Modifieds ($1,000 to win), Street Stocks, B-Mods ($500 to win), Pure Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sat Jun 20 - Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks plus OCRS Sprint Cars.
Sun Jun 21 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks and Turf Cars plus ASCS Sprint Cars.
Sat Jun 27 - USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Jul 4 - No races.
Sat Jul 11 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Jul 18 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks ($500 to win), B-Mods and Turf Cars.
Sat Jul 25 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Aug 1 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sat Aug 8 - USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks($500 to win) plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sun Aug 9 - Factory Stocks and Turf Cars plus ASCS Sprint Cars.
Sat Aug 15 - No races.
Sat Aug 22 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks.
Sat Aug 29 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Sep 5 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars.
Sun Sep 6 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Turf Cars plus Midwest Dirt Late Models.
Sat Sep 12 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Turf Cars ($500 to win).
Sat Sep 19 - USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods and Pure Stocks plus SMRS Midget Series.
Sat Sep 26 - TBA.
Sat Oct 3 - No races.
Sat Oct 10 - TBA.
Sat Oct 17 - TBA.
Sat Oct 24 - TBA.

Schedule is tentative and subject to change without notice.



Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us
Connect

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group