Sorensen solid at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
April 17, 2009  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - After a cold season opener last week, Mother Nature provided a perfect spring day with temperatures near 70 degrees for week 2 of racing action at the Chateau Raceway powered by Miner's Outdoor Power & Recreation.

The warm weather brought out a great field of cars and a good crowd for the night's action which was highlighted by a nice field of 23 French's Repair & Fabrication USRA Modifieds.

Mike Sorensen of Rochester pulled a front row starting spot for the main event and led flag to flag to capture his first feature win of the young season. He also grabbed a heat win giving him a sweep on the night.

After two weeks of action, Sorensen has finished first and second in each of his races, and has won both heat races.

His consistency over the first two weeks has him sitting atop the points standings.

Steve Wetzstein of West Concord, who started on the pole, ran second the entire race with Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie running third the entire distance.

Behind those three there was quite a bit of action, however, as Brad Waits of Zumbrota, who took the feature win last week, came all the way from the outside of row 6 to finish fourth ahead of Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie.

Hillson worked out of row 5 for his top-5 finish.

The other heat wins went to Josh Mattick of Austin and Brian Shaw of Brownsdale.

Racing action continues next Friday night at 7:30 p.m.. The Chateau Raceway is located just five miles north of Austin in Southern Minnesota.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, April 17, 2009


Feature: 1. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 2. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 3. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 4. Brad Waits, Zumbrota; 5. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 6. Josh Mattick, Austin; 7. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 8. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 9. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 10. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 11. Adam Stockhausen, Minnesota City; 12. Wally Bustad, Austin; 13. Tim Thomas, West Fargo, N.D.; 14. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 15. Josh Angst, Winona; 16. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 17. Todd Steinhart, Waseca; 18. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 19. Tom Paulson, Kasson; 20. Dustin Nelson, Ogilvie; 21. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale; 22. Mike Lawson, Owatonna; 23. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center.

Heat 1: J. Mattick, Myer, Scharkey, Paulson, Nelson, Steinhart, Stockhausen, Thomas.

Heat 2: Sorensen, Waits, Wetzstein, Hillson, Angst, Wernecke, Noble, Lawson.

Heat 3: Shaw, B. Mattick, Dahle, Jensen, Alberts, Bustad, Steinbrink.

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group