Ragland grabs opening night win at Midway
Print this page
April 24, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Under beautiful skies and with 80 race teams in the pits, the 2009 race season at the Midway Speedway began in grand style Friday with an action-packed night.

Defending USRA Modified track champion Jamie Ragland had to work hard in capturing the season opener.

2007 champion Eric Hudson of Rolla grabbed the early lead with Rusty Dukes and Craig Wood following close behind, with Dukes showing the high groove.

On lap 3, Ragland made a three-wide move on the front stretch to grab the runner-up spot and began his move to the front as Hudson was setting a fast pace.

On lap 6, Ragland caught Hudson as the duo ran side by side for three laps until Ragland grabbed the lead using the top side.

Hudson stayed down low while the battle for third was tight with Dukes, Donnie Fellers, Justin Neuman and Wood battling it out.

The second and final yellow flew on lap 13 for debris as the track had both low lines and top lines working strong. On the restart, Hudson moved to the top groove as Dukes, Fellers, Wood and Neuman battled hard.

In the closing laps Ragland pulled away leaving the race for second with Dukes and Hudson running side by side.

Coming to the checkered, Ragland grabbed the win with Dukes sliding high in turn 4, allowing Hudson and Fellers to move around to take the second and third place spots with Dukes and Wood following.

Action continues next Friday night as a Non-Winged Sprint event along with racing in the Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Bombers and Pure Stocks with Racing at 8 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, April 24, 2009


Feaure: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 3. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 4. Rusty Dukes, Fair Grove; 5. Craig Wood, El Dorado Springs; 6. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 7. Eric Lampe, Springfield; 8. Sam Petty, Niangua; 9. Tony Moore, Lebanon; 10. Colson Kirk, Urbana.

Heat #1: 1. Hudson, 2. Wood, 3. Fellers, 4. Lampe, 5. Petty.

Heat #2: 1. Dukes, 2. Ragland, 3. Neuman, 4. Kirk, 5. Moore.

Latest News from the USRA

May 22, 2018
I-35 Speedway having more fun
I-35 Speedway is the race track where we always have fun! Last weekend we had super-exciting races on Saturday and we introduced ATV racing on Sunday.  I-35 Speedwayread more
May 22, 2018
Tony Roper Memorial Memorial payout turning heads
The payout for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods presented by S&S U-Pull-It Auto Parts this Sunday at the Lebanon Midway Speedway during the 18th Annual Tony Roper Memorial haread more
May 21, 2018
Kick off Memorial Day Weekend this Friday at Lakeside Speedway
This Friday,May 25, racing on the river’s edge at Lakeside Speedway is presented by RockAuto.com. Featured classes are USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cars and Ouread more
May 21, 2018
USRA Modifieds share spotlight at 26th Annual Show-Me 100
One of dirt track racing's biggest weekends of the year is almost here with Lucas Oil Speedway to become the center of the short-track universe. The 26th Annual Shread more
May 19, 2018
Holman, Tarkington claim Tri-State Speedway wins
The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series continued this past Saturday night at the mighty Tri-State Speedway. Low 90-degree temperatures greeted the fans as they arrived at tread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group