Dalton tops USRA Modifieds in Springfield Raceway opener
Print this page
April 25, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - The 2009 season opener at the quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway found over 120 race teams ready to battle with outstanding racing action in five classes and several tight finishes.

Defending track champion Jackie Dalton took the lead from Steve Muilenburg on lap 2, then withstood several late-race challenges, including a last lap effort from Mitch Keeter, in grabbing the USRA Modified feature.

The race featured tight racing as Scott Drake seemed to have the fastest car in the middle stages of the race. On lap 13 he moved from his eighth starting spot to gather second place and was closing in on the leader when a scrape with the front stretch wall ended his night.

A lap 17 restart found Keeter and Muilenburg close in on the leader, but Dalton pulled away in the last lap.

Keeter, Muilenburg, Jason Hughes and a fast-moving Ted VanZandt completed the top-5 as 15 of the 20 starters finished on the lead lap.

Action continues next Saturday night, May 2, with racing to start at 7 p.m. featuring action in the USRA Modifieds, Late Models, SportMods, Bombers and Legends Cars.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, April 25, 2009


Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 2. Mitch Keeter, Joplin; 3. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 4. Jason Hughes, West Plains; 5. Ted VanZandt, Billings; 6. Josh Hughes, West Plains; 7. Bobby Pearish, Joplin; 8. Brian Green, Joplin; 9. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 10. Butch Leiker, Joplin; 11. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 12. Eric Clay, Springfield; 13. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 14. Darrell McWhirther, Joplin; 15. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 16. Scott Walton, Fort Smith, Ark.; 17. Jason Summers; 18. Finley Weston; 19. Scott Drake, Webb City; 20. Greg Hughes, West Plains.

Heat #1: 1. G. Hughes; 2. Keeter; 3. Josh Hughes; 4. VanZandt; 5. Tillman; 6. Green; 7. Summer.

Heat #2: 1. Muilenburg; 2. Graybeal; 3. Drake; 4. McWhirther; 5. Clay; 6. Walton.

Heat #3: 1. Dalton; 2. Jason Hughes; 3. Pearish; 4. Leiker; 5. Weston; 6. Mitchell.

Latest News from the USRA

June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
June 16, 2018
Nobles County Speedway wins to Lund, Christensen, Luinenburg, Coopman
Saturday night at the Nobles County Speedway, passing was a challenge in the Holley USRA Stock Car feature as the leaders hugged the bottom of the track. Spenser Kalass uread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group