Myer dominates, then limps to victory lane a Chateau Raceway
Print this page
May 1, 2009  |  by Matthew Grage

Despite a broken front suspension, Tommy Myer walked away with trophy on Friday, May 1, at the Chateau Raceway.

LANSING, Minn. - Beautiful blue skies greeted cars and drivers for week four of American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series action at Chateau Raceway powered by Miner's Outdoor Power & Recreation. A nice field of cars but on a great show.

Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie blitzed the field in the French's Repair & Fabrication USRA Modified feature but was lucky the race wasn't one lap longer. Myer jumped from row two to the front with a nice little three wide move down the back straightaway and through turns three and four on lap one. Myer went right up the middle of the front row of Dustin Steinbrink of Austin and Ben Mattick of Hayfield. He never looked back as he stretched out he lead over Mike Sorensen of Rochester.

The hard charger of the race was Tom Paulson of Kasson who started tail end in the race in wound up in third. Doug Hillson held on for fourth follwed by Ben and Joel Mattick, respectively.

Meanwhile, while making his way back around the track after the finish, Myer's car broke down and he pulled to victory lane in with some obvious suspension problem. He left victory lane on the end of the wrecker with his trophy and the spring out of the left front of his car laying inside.

Sorensen and Ben Mattick took the heat wins.

Racing action continues next Friday night, May 8, at 7:30.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, May 1, 2009


Feature: 1. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 2. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 3. Tom Paulson, Kasson; 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 5. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 6. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 7. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 8. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 9. Josh Mattick, Austin; 10. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 11. Wally Bustad, Austin; 12. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 13. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 14. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale.

Heat #1: Sorensen; Myer; Wetzstein; Scharkey; Hillson; Alberts; Bustad.

Heat #2: B. Mattick; Shaw; Jensen; Steinbrink; Misgen; J. Mattick; Paulson.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group