Merritt grabs Midway Speedway USRA Modified main
Print this page
May 22, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Mother Nature finally allowed racing at the Action Track of the Ozarks Friday night as 80 race teams checked in before an unusual night of racing action at the Midway Speedway.

The USRA Modified feature saw veteran Rex Merritt jump to the early lead with Jim Pearcy Jr. following close behind.

On lap 2, Justin Neuman took over the runner-up spot as Kris Jackson, Pearcy, Eric Hudson and J.C. Morotn were battling.

A caution waved on lap 3 as current points leader Jamie Ragland spun in turn 3 while riding the top groove.

On the restart, Neuman found the top groove to his liking as Merritt was setting a quick pace on the low side while Hudson was moving both low and high.

With a green run, Neuman had closed up the gap to two car-lengths with Hudson applying heavy pressure and Jackson was was coming quickly while a tight battle for fifth and beyond was keeping action fast.

Neuman was keeping Merritt on the wheel as Hudson had the bottom groove working quickly.

On lap 14, lapped traffic played a role as Neuman had to get off the top side as Merritt showed his quick thinking in holding on to the top spot.

On lap 17, the leader Merritt lost some ground as Hudson was using traffic to his advantage and closed up as the duo pulled away.

On the white flag lap, Merritt used traffic again to his advantage as he put some distance between himself and Hudson as Neuman, Jackson and Jeff Albright Jr. rounded out the top-5.

Action continues next Friday night, May 29, with a $500-to-win B-Mod feature along with points action in the Factory Stocks and Bombers. The first-ever Hillbilly Farm Truck Enduro along with a Car Enduro also. Kids bike races at intermission for children 10 and under. Gates open at 5:00 with racing at 8:00.

For more information visit or call 417-594-0594.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, May 22, 2009


Feature: 1. Rex Merritt, Billings; 2. Eric Hudson, Rolla; 3. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 4. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 5. Jeff Albright Jr., Lebanon; 6. Ken Dickinson, Camdenton; 7. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 8. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 9. Jim Pearcy Jr., Springfield; 10. J.C. Morton, Springfield; 11. Josh Woody, Buckhorn; 12. Jack Lancaster, Urbana; 13. Kirk Coloson, Urbana; 14. Ron Myers, Lebanon; 15. Chad Staus, Otterville; 16. Derek Cook, Lebanon; 17. Tony Moore, Lebanon; DNS - Sam Petty, Niangua.

Heat #1: 1. Neuman; 2. Piercy; 3. Albright; 4. Staus; 5. Lancaster; 6. Petty.

Heat #2: 1. Jackson; 2. Morton; 3. Dickinson; 4. Woody; 5. Kirk; 6. Myers.

Heat #3: 1. Merritt; 2. Ragland; 3. Hudson; 4. Fellers; 5. Cook; 6. Moore.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group