Dalton nips Maggard for USRA Modified win at Springfield
Print this page
May 30, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - With over 90 race teams on hand on Fan Apperciation Night, the action was fast on the quick quarter-mile of the Springfield Raceway with close action and two new winners claiming the top prizes.

In the 20-lap USRA Modified feature, Arkansas driver Darrell McWhirther grabbed the opening lead over Tammy Mitchell with former champion Erik Maggard following.

This battle lasted until lap 4 when Maggard shot to the lead as current points leader Jackie Dalton was working from the 10th starting spot.

With Maggard setting a quick pace, McWhirther was holding off the challanges of Dalton and Wayne Graybeal.

On lap 8, Dalton went into second place as Maggard was quick up front.

Back in the pack, Jim Body had charged from 19th to the top-5 after spinning on lap 1.

On lap 10, Dalton shot to the inside of Maggard to grab the lead with Maggard searching the track for a quicker line.

On lap 12, Body moved around Maggard as the duo ran side by side.

A lap-18 caution allowed Maggard a final shot at Dalton on the double-file restart. Dalton pulled to the bottom of the track as Maggard found the very top groove to his liking.

Heading to the finish, Maggard got a run in turn 3 as Dalton was going for his third straight win.

Heading to the flagstand, Maggard swung outside and just came up two inches short as Dalton grabbed his third win of the season with Maggard, Body, Marvin Forrest and Mitch Keeter following.

Action continues next Saturday night at Springfield Raceway as Wheeler Metals will be sponsoring a $300-to-win Bomber feature points race along with action in the USRA Modifieds, Late Models, SportMods and Legends Cars. Gates open at 5 p.m. with hotlaps at 6:15 and racing at 7 p.m. sharp. For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, May 30, 2009


Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 2. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 3. Jim Body, Diamond; 4. Marvin Forrest, Shell Knob; 5. Mitch Keeter, Joplin; 6. Darrell McWhirther, Bentonville, Ark.; 7. Ron McClellan, Joplin; 8. Keith Branson, Springfield; 9. Brian Green, Pierce City; 10. Billy Dalton, Reeds; 11. Sam Petty, Niangua; 12. David Kirkland, Branson; 13. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 14. Darrell Jackson, Carthage; 15. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 16. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 17. Weston Finley, Nixa; 18. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 19. Eric Clay, Springfield.

1st Heat: 1. J. Dalton; 2. Maggard; 3. Body; 4. Forrest; 5. Tillman; 6. Finley; 7. Petty.

2nd Heat: 1. Keeter; 2. Green; 3. McWhirther; 4. Kirkland; 5. Jackson; 6. B. Dalton.

3rd Heat: 1. Pearish; 2. Graybeal; 3. McClellan; 4. Mitchell; 5. Branson; 6. Clay.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group