Ragland snags third USRA Modified win at Midway
Print this page
July 17, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - With perfect weather conditions and 79 race teams in the pits, racing action was fast and furious Friday night at the Midway Speedway with close racing action all night long.

Defending USRA Modified track champion Jamie Ragland returned back to his home track for the action Friday night and took advantage of a front row starting spot in gathering his third feature win of the 2009 season.

Ragland took to the bottom groove on the start as outside front row starter Justin Neuman swung to the outside groove keeping Ragland in his sight while Brian Green and Donnie Fellers were battling along with Rex Merritt.

The first yellow waved on lap 13 when Colson Kirk spun in turn 4, closing the field up. On the restart, Ragland kept glued to the bottom while Neuman kept the middle lane hot staying close behind.

On lap 14, veteran Rex Merritt got around both Fellers and Green to take over third place and began his charge to the front.

The yellow waved on lap 16 as Wayne Graybeal came to a halt on the front stretch. On the restart, Merritt and Neuman went side by side as Merritt was glued to the bottom lane and closing quickly on Ragland with Neuman still running the high line.

On lap 17, Brian Green's strong run ended as he spun in turn 4, setting up a three-lap shootout. On the restart, Merritt pulled to Ragland's back bumper as Neuman was searching for a faster line.

Ragland pulled away off turn 2, but Merritt and Neuman closed up in turns 3-4.

Ragland held off the last-lap efforts to grab his third win of the season with Neuman, Merritt, previous week's winner Rusty Dukes and Terry Kirk completing the top-5.

Next Friday night, July 24, will be Autograph Night. Action will find the USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Bombers and Pure Stocks competing as fans get to go trackside at intermission and greet the drivers competing that evening.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with practice at 7 and racing at 8. More information can be gathered by visiting the website at www.lebanonmidwayspeedway.com or contacting Jack Jones at 417-594-0594.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, July 17, 2009


Feature: 1. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 2. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 3. Rex Merritt, Billings; 4. Rusty Dukes, Fair Grove; 5. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 6. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 7. Sam Petty, Niangua; 8. Brian Green, Pierce City; 9. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 10. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 11. Tony Moore, Lebanon; 12. DeWayne Applegate, Bolivar.

Heat #1: 1. Ragland; 2. Dukes; 3. Green; 4. Graybeal; 5. Petty; 6. Applegate.

Heat #2: 1. Neuman; 2. Fellers; 3. Merritt; 4. T. Kirk; 5. C. Kirk; 6. Moore.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group