Dukes dominates USRA Modifieds at Midway
Print this page
August 7, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

LEBANON, Mo. - Veteran Rusty Dukes is serving notice for the upcoming Modified special events in the area as he grabbed the opening lead and served a dominating performance Friday night at the Midway Speedway in capturing the USRA Modified feature win.

Dukes, who started on the outside of the front row, grabbed the lead from polesitter Sam Petty and withstood an early challange from Jim Body and Kris Jackson in setting a fast pace.

With Dukes leading, Body and Jackson waged a strong battle for the second spot as defending track champion Jamie Ragland was coming strong from the 10th starting spot along with Justin Neuman.

Neuman's night ended on lap 5 when he brought out a caution flag with mechanical problems.

On the restart, Jackson applied pressure to Dukes as Body and Ragland were fighting for position. During the green run, Dukes again pulled away and left the rest to battle for spots.

Ragland's charge to the front ended on lap 14 as the right rear tire exploded.

On the final restart, Jackson tried again but Dukes pulled away to grab his second feature win of the season with Jackson, Body, points leader Donnie Fellers and a late-moving Ragland completing the top-5.

Racing resumes Friday night, Aug. 14, with racing in the Late Model Sportsmans, USRA Modifieds, B-Mods, Bombers and Pure Stocks. The track will also hold the final pits top competition Friday night with the winning team recieving $100 from EZ Port-A Potties of Lebanon. Gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 7 and racing at 8 p.m.

More information can be gathered by visiting the website at www.lebanonmidwayspeedway.com or contacting Jack Jones at 417-594-0594.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, Aug. 7, 2009


Feature: 1. Rusty Dukes, Fair Grove; 2. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 3. Jim Body, Diamond; 4. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 5. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 6. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 7. Sam Petty, Niangua; 8. Colson Kirk, Urbana; 9. Justin Neuman, Crocker; 10. Jonathan Self, Cedar Hill; 11. Danny Cross, Lebanon.

Heat #1: 1. Jackson; 2. Fellers; 3. Ragland; 4. T. Kirk; 5. Petty; 6. C. Kirk.

Heat #2: 1. Neuman; 2. Body; 3. Dukes; 4. Self; 5. Cross.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group