Brown wins 'Classic' race named for his son
Print this page
April 21, 1999

By Bill Martin, I.M.C.A.

OSKALOOSA, IA (April 21, 1999) - The highlight of Jim Brown's season came on opening night at the Southern Iowa Speedway Brown led from flag to flag in winning the Aaron Brown Classic for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Cars. The memonal race is named for his son, who was killed in a car accident five years ago.

"This is the one I want to win the most," Brown said. "The only thing better would be if Aaron was running and I was watching him."

The Fremont veteran led from flag to flag, finishing ahead of Bloomfield's Jim Lynch and John Knowler of Sigourney. Rounding out the top five were Rick Brown of Kellogg and Brant Fuhs of Eldon.

Brown races the car Aaron had nearly finished building before he died, and watched a tape of the race when it was broadcast on the local cable channel the following weekend.

"It was really pretty close most of the way," said Brown, who stretched his lead at the end and won by about half the front straightaway.

Brown posted a sweep in winning both his heat and the feature. Other heat winners were Ross McCombs of Oskaloosa, Fuhs and Knowler. Don Sanders of Ottumwa took the consolation.



Feature Results: 1. Jim Brown, Fremont; 2. Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; 3. John Knowler, Sigourney; 4. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 5. Brant Fuhs, Eldon; 6. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 7. Mike Robinson, Moravia; 8. Terry Simmons, Albia; 9. Bobby Greiner Jr., Offumwa; 10. Doug DeJong, Oskaloosa; 11. Mickey Kerr, Fairfield; 12. Jeff Nielsen, Audubon; 13. Eric Snyder, Eldon; 14. Brian Sterling, Rose Hill; 15. David Foster, New Sharon; 16. Don Sanders, Offumwa; 17. Jerry Potts, Eldon; 18. Corey Stout, Oskaloosa; 19. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 20. Bob Crouse, New Sharon; 21. Bill Redlinger, Keota; 22. Jeff Wollam, Marshalltown; 23. Jeremy Miller, Batavia; 24. Wade Francis, Eddyville.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group