Davis wins Shootout Race of Champions in borrowed car
Print this page
July 1, 1999

By Bill Martin

OSKALOOSA, IA (July 1, 1999) - Scott Davis proved that he's still got what it takes to win in a Stock Car...even if it's a borrowed one.

The veteran from Madrid had moved out of the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car division and into the Modified ranks this season. He took a loaner to the first night of the Oskaloosa I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car Shootout, then went out and won the Race of Champions.

"I like being back in a Stock Car, that's for sure," said Davis, who topped 15 other I.M.C.A. track champions or track runners-up from last season in the 16-lap event. "This is one of the only things I haven't won. It feels pretty good."

Both qualifying heats and the $500 to-win Race of Champions were postponed from Wednesday to Thursday evening because of rain. "B" races and the feature, in turn, were moved from last night to next Thursday, July 8 at the Southern Iowa Speedway.

The top two drivers from each of eight heats secured spots in next week's Shootout, which will pay $2,500 to win. Davis started the Race of Champions on the outside of the front row, in the car he borrowed from racing buddy Scott Baker of Boone.

Taking the lead almost at the drop of the green flag from pole starter Lavern Carey of Ionia, Davis was able to put some distance between himself and first Denny Stoneburner of Boone and then Ottumwa's Bobby Greiner Jr. Greiner was a full car length behind Davis when he crossed the finish line.

Stoneburner was third, Carey ran fourth and Jim Lynch of Bloomfield improved seven places from his starting spot to round out the top five.

Five drivers from the Race of Champions field have already made the grade for the 26-car Shootout feature.

Greiner, Carey and Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon won their qualifying heats, while Lynch and Rod Snellenberger of Pulaski, Wis., both posted second-place runs. Don Sanders of Ottumwa finished second in the final heat, beating both Stoneburner and defending Shootout champion Jeff Anderson of Atlantic to earn a spot in the feature race. Larry Silbaugh of Jefferson also qualified as the runner-up, despite starting last in his heat.

Racing begins at 7:10 p.m. next Thursday at the Southern Iowa Speedway.



Race of Champions: 1. Scott Davis, Madrid; 2. Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 3. Denny Stoneburner, Boone; 4. Lavern Carey, Ionia; 5. Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; 6. Todd Inman, Des Moines; 7. Brandon Brown, Ottumwa; 8. Steve Jackson, Des Moines; 9. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski, Wis.; 10. Ed Anderson, Marshalltown; 11. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 12. Scott Williams, Steamboat Rock; 13. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 14. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 15. Don Killen, Des Moines; 16. Ron Ver Beek, Oskaloosa.

Feature Qualifiers: First Heat, 1. Jeff Ellsworth, Boone; 2. Doug DeJong, Oskaloosa. Second Heat, 1. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 2. Dave Wilson, Ottumwa; Third Heat, 1. Bert McDaniel, Eldon; 2. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski, Wis. Fourth Heat, 1. Mike Robinson, Moravia; 2. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson. Fifth Heat, 1. Jeremy Miller, Batavia; 2. Jim Brown, Fremont; Sixth Heat, 1. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 2. Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; Seventh Heat, 1. Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 2. Mike Nichols, Harlan; Eighth Heat, 1. Lavern Carey, Ionia; 2. Don Sanders, Ottumwa.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group