Nations grabs first USRA Modified win at Midway Speedway
Print this page
August 14, 2009

LEBANON, Mo. - With over 70 race teams in the pits and perfect weather conditions action Friday night at the Midway Speedway again provided excellent racing with two first-time winners grabbing the checkered flag for 2009.

The USRA Modified feature was all Shawn Nations as he grabbed the win for his first-ever USRA feature event.

After competing Thursday night at Springfield with the USMTS Modifieds, Nations made his first visit this season a well-remembered event. Grabbing the lead from Sam Petty on the start, Nations found Kris Jackson and points leader Donnie Fellers coming quickly on lap 3 only to see Jackson spin in turn 1 with Fellers also getting collected. On the restart, Nations had two-time defending track champion Jamie Ragland right on his bumper as Ragland was looking for a faster line around the track. Terry Kirk and Sam Petty continued a battle for third as Ragland applied pressure. Nations pulled away and take the win in a dominating performance with Ragland, Kirk, Fellers and Jackson rounding out the top-5.

Racing action continues next Friday night, Aug. 21, with action in the USRA Modifieds, Factory Stocks, B-Mods, Bombers and Pure Stocks. The speedway will also be having Doctor Danger perform his death defying car stunts at intermission.

Racing will start at 8 p.m. sharp with the adult admission next Friday night being $12 for adults and kids 10 and under free.

More information is available on the website at or contact Jack Jones at 417-594-0594.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, Aug. 14, 2009


Feature: 1. Shawn Nations, Macks Creek; 2. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 3. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 4. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 5. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 6. Sam Petty, Niangua; 7. Matt Dotson, Sturgeon; 8. Tim Dotson, Sturgeon; 9. Josh Bindseil, Sturgeon; 10. Tony Moore, Lebanon; DNS - Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; Brian Troxel, Sturgeon.

Heat #1: 1. Jackson; 2. Nations; 3. Petty; 4. Bindseil; 5. Ragland; DNS - Troxel.

Heat #2: 1. M. Dotson; 2. Fellers; 3. Graybeal; 4. Kirk; 5. T. Dotson.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group