Elliott's record-tying win comes at Southern Iowa Speedway
Print this page
July 29, 1999

By Bill Martin, IMCA

OSKALOOSA, IA (July 29, 1999) - The yellow flag that 21 of the 22 drivers in Thursday's NAPA Winner Series feature wanted to see never came out.

Mark Elliott of Webster City pulled away from his competition at Southern Iowa Speedway, winning for the record-tying sixth time this year on the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car series circuit.

The 25-lapper saw just one caution flag, on the seventh circuit, so there was no re-start to bring the field back together. Showing their muscle on the big half-mile track at Oskaloosa, the top four cars finished well in front.

Following Elliott across the finish line were Bobby Greiner Jr. of Ottumwa, John Knowler of Sigourney and Howard Gordon Jr. of New Sharon.

Mark Smyser of Lancaster, Mo., and Knowler started on the front row for the main event, which sported a good blend of series regulars and local drivers.

Knowler, Greiner, Elliott and Jim Lynch of Bloomfield made up the top four over the first seven laps. Elliott took the lead after what would be the only re-start of the race and led to the finish.

His six wins in '99 matches the single-season record established by Scott Davis of Madrid, in 1997. Davis' total of 10 series wins is the next target in sight for Elliott, who now has eight career NAPA victories.


Feature: 1. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 2. Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 3. John Knowler, Sigourney; 4. Howard Gordon Jr., New Sharon; 5. Brandon Brown, Ottumwa; 6. Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; 7. Todd Inman, Des Moines; 8. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson; 9. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 10. Todd Foster, Webster City; 11. Brian Edel, Oskaloosa; 12. Cliff McNeal, Ottumwa; 13. Eric Fullenkamp, Eldon; 14. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 15. Corey Stout, Oskaloosa; 16. Mark Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.; 17. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 18. Bobby Bowman, Winterset; 19. Brian Blessington, Breda; 20. Wade Francis, Eddyville; 21. Kevin Booy, Oskaloosa; 22. Ted Greiner, Bloomfield.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group