Maggard grabs USRA Modified win at Springfield
Print this page
August 22, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Under perfect racing weather and a perfect racing surface, action provided the fans at Springfield Raceway some close racing action Saturday night.

The USRA Modified feature rolled out with Tammy Mitchell bringing the field down to the green with Brian Green to the outside. Green led lap 1, but the yellow flew quickly as Mitchell and Todd Knight got together.

On the restart, Green again jumped to the lead with Jody Tillman and Bobby Pearish following. As the pace started to pick up, Pearish drove to the front on lap 6 taking over the top spot as Brandon Maggard, making his first start of the season in Larry Tindle's car, was charging from the 11th starting spot and moving into the top-3.

Maggard wheeled the car into second place on lap 7 and for the next 4 laps it was side-by-side action with Pearish and Maggard. Behind the lead duo was side-by-side racing with Tillman, Green, Mitch Keeter and a fast-moving Joe Duvall, along with Ted Van Zandt.

On lap 12, Maggard started pulling away and went on to capture his first USRA Modified feature win with Pearish a solid second followed by Tillman, Keeter and Duvall making his first start at the quick quarter-mile from the 12th spot.

Saturday night, Aug. 29, will be kids night at the Springfield Raceway. Kids' bike races and back-to-school kits will be given away. Kids ages 12 and under will be getting a chance to race on the track at intermission. Racing action will feature the USRA Modifieds, along with Late Models, Bombers, SportMods and Legends Cars.

Gates open at 5:00 with hot laps at 6:45 and racing at 7:00.

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 22, 2009


Feature: 1. Brandon Maggard, Springfield; 2. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 3. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 4. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 5. Joe Duvall, Chelsea, Okla.; 6. Brian Green, Pierce City; 7. Ted Van Zandt, Billings; 8. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 9. Ron McClellan, Jasper; 10. Dairan Hendrix, Joplin; 11. Jason Summers, Carthage; 12. Tim Simon; 13. Craig DeMasters, Neosho; 14. Jim Body, Diamond; 15. Danny DeMasters II; 16. Danny DeMasters; 17. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 18. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 19. Todd Knight, Harrison, Ark.

Heat #1: 1. Tillman; 2. Dalton; 3. Van Zandt; 4. D. DeMasters II; 5. C .DeMasters; 6. Graybeal; 7. D. DeMasters.

Heat #2: 1. Pearish; 2. Maggard; 3. Keeter; 4. Green; 5. Body; 6. Hendrix; 7. Summers.

Heat #3: 1. Duvall; 2. Mitchell; 3. Knight; 4. Simon; 5. McClellan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group