Folkerts repeats, Greiner returns and Criss snares first win at Osky
Print this page
May 24, 2000

by Jeff Broeg

OSKALOOSA, IA (May 24, 2000) — Troy Folkerts, Bobby Greiner Jr. and T.J. Criss were all the center of a victory lane celebration on Mountain Dew Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway Wednesday.

Folkerts slipped past his older brother Tim at the mid-race mark and cruised to his second straight win in the IMCA Modified feature. Tim made it a one-two finish for the brothers from Albia while Ron VerBeek, Denny Banks and Dave Farren completed the top five.

The IMCA Stock Car main event featured a three-car battle involving Mickey Kerr, Wade Francis and Bobby Greiner. Kerr paced the first half of the event before Francis moved to the front, but he could not hold back the determined Greiner who grabbed the lead with three laps to go for the victory. Francis, Brian Edel, Mike Robinson and Brad Pinkerton were the rest of the top five.

In the Hobby Stocks, T.J. Criss had to hold back a late challenge from Scott Buehneman to win his first-ever main event. Kris Walker, Jared Curry and Rick VanDusseldorp followed the lead pair across the finish line.

Racing action continues at the Southern Iowa Speedway next Wednesday night.



1ST HEAT – 1. Tim Folkerts, Albia 2. Jeff Kropf, Ottumwa 3. Roger Baxter, University Park 4. Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa

2ND HEAT – 1. Denny Banks, Ottumwa 2. Eric Fullenkamp, Eldon 3. Dave Farren, Des Moines 4. Ken Bryant, Ottumwa

3RD HEAT – 1. Troy Folkerts, Albia 2. Mike Kaller, Ottumwa 3. Mark Macomber, Lancaster MO 4. Jim Wubben, Moravia

A-MAIN – 1. Troy Folkerts 2. Tim Folkerts 3. VerBeek 4. Banks 5. Farren 6. Fullenkamp 7. Wubben 8. Danny Wallace, Des Moines 9. Todd Holman, Ottumwa 10. Bryant 11. Macomber 12. Baxter 13. Jeff Streeter, Vinton 14. Mike VanGenderen, Newton 15. Mike Vermillion, What Cheer 16. Chad McKay, Oskaloosa 17. Kropf 18. Kaller


1ST HEAT – 1. Howard Gordon Jr., New Sharon 2. Dave Wilson, Kirkville 3. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon 4. Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa 5. Eric Snyder, Eldon

2ND HEAT – 1. Brant Fuhs, Eldon 2. Mickey Kerr, Birmingham 3. Doug DeJong, Oskaloosa 4. Mike Robinson, Moravia 5. Jeremy Miller, Batavia

3RD HEAT – 1. Wade Francis, Eddyville 2. Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa 3. Jim Mueller, Mt. Pleasant 4. Travis Hansacker, Melcher 5. Jim Brown, Fremont

4TH HEAT – 1. Brian Edel, Oskaloosa 2. Rick Brown, Kellogg 3. Bob Crouse, Oskaloosa 4. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa 5. Kevin Booy, Oskaloosa

B-MAIN – 1. Don Sanders, Ottumwa 2. Randy Baker, Batavia 3. Pat Surfus, Oskaloosa 4. Corey Stout, Oskaloosa

A-MAIN – 1. Greiner 2. Francis 3. Edel 4. Robinson 5. Pinkerton 6. Crouse 7. Gordon 8. Mueller 9. VerBeek 10. Snyder 11. Miller 12. Sanders 13. DeJong 14. McCombs 15. Baker 16. Brown 17. Hansacker 18. Kerr 19. Fuhs 20. Stout 21. Booy 22. Surfus 23. Wilson 24. Brown


1ST HEAT – 1. Rick VanDusseldorp, Oskaloosa 2. Mark Wirth, Chariton 3. Bobby Greene, Tracy 4. Lorne Parks, Ottumwa 5. Rick Langrede, Sigourney

2ND HEAT – 1. Jared Curry, Fremont 2. Brad Tursic, Ottumwa 3. Curt Lamberson, Rose Hill 4. Brad Stephens, Bussey 5. Todd Phillips, Ollie

3RD HEAT – 1. Paul Underwood, Ottumwa 2. Brandon Hess, Oskaloosa 3. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa 4. Brandon Bandstra, New Sharon 5. Scott Buehneman, Keswick

4TH HEAT – 1. Kris Walker, Oskaloosa 2. Phil Hamilton, Oskaloosa 3. Mike Shelton, Ottumwa 4. Nicky Whitt, Oskaloosa 5. Jason Reed, Melcher

B-MAIN – 1. Tommy Lathrop, Ottumwa 2. Dennis Greenfield, Ottumwa 3. Steve Shepard, Fremont 4. Michael Schmidt, Knoxville

A-MAIN – 1. Criss 2. Buehneman 3. Walker 4. Curry 5. VanDusseldorp 6. Greene 7. Reed 8. Greenfield 9. Shepard 10. Underwood 11. Whitt 12. Lathrop 13. Shelton 14. Stephens 15. Phillips 16. Schmidt 17. Parks 18. Bandstra 19. Tursic 20. Wirth 21. Lamberson 22. Hamilton 23. Hess 24. Langrede

Latest News from the USRA

April 18, 2018
Things to know as 2018 racing season gets started at Lucas Oil Speedway
This summer will mark 12 years since Lucas Oil Speedway opened to rave reviews as Forrest Lucas' vision for a dirt-track racing showcase was realized. Since that fread more
April 18, 2018
Lebanon Midway ready to open 2018 season
Lebanon Midway Speedway drivers and fans are hoping that the third time is the charm as the track will be ready to host an exciting 2018 season beginning this Friday, Aprread more
April 18, 2018
Springfield Raceway back in action this Saturday
The quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway is back in action this Saturday, April 21, with round three 3 of the championship chase featuring USRA Modifieds and Out-Pace Uread more
April 17, 2018
Lakeside Speedway season opener presented by Tompkins Industries fires up Friday
A lack of dirt racing events throughout the region has left drivers and fans chomping at the bit to hit the track for a night of competition. However, this will change onread more
April 17, 2018
Purse revealed for 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special
Team Vicki Davis Racing 66 and the I-35 Speedway are pleased to announce the purse for the 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special on June 16 at the famed 3/8-miread more
Contact Us

ฉ Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group